How to control the parameters of a pedal

Expression-pedals, Midi, CV and Apps

Moog Expression PedalExpression-pedals

The first pedal that could be controlled with an expression-pedal in real time was the Uni-Vibe. The advantage was that you could adjust the swiftness without taking the hands off the strings. Later this function could also be found in Auto-Wahs. In this way the pedal could be controlled just like a real Wah.

Likewise, the tempo of certain delays without tap tempo can be set with an expression-pedal.

Only for a short time there was the T.I.P. third hand pedal. The connector of this pedal could have been screwed right on the pot of any pedal. Thereby any parameter of a pedal could have been controlled mechanically with a pedal.

Expression-pedals by Source Audio and, recently also Electro Harmonix make it possible to control two or more effects with a single pedal. And also the Moog AP-201 is able to do so.

CV

What seems to be omnipresent in the world of synthesizers, (still) appears pretty unusual to guitarists: the control with CV (Control Voltage). The level of Control Voltage goes from 0V up to 5V.
According to the increase of the voltage the parameter of a pedal can be controlled as with an expression-pedal.

Electro Harmonix makes it possible to control many of their pedals with an expression-pedal as well as with CV. And also the pedals of Chase Bliss and, of course, the Moggerfogger by Moog (which originally come from a synthesizer) enable you to do so.

Midi

Even if many guitarists refuse to integrate midi into their setup, it also can be suitable. Especially since Eventide put the H9 on the market, which has got a midi clock. By that the H9 can be synchronized with the song. Or you can load the presets automatically. If you connect more than one midi-compatible pedal or for example the Line6 M5 with the Eventide H9, you are able to synchronize delays and tremolos.

Several loopers (Disaster Area, Gigrig) also can be controlled with midi. Particularly with a complex setup with multiple Strymon pedals this makes sense.

Midi controller like the Moog MP-201 form a complete control center. They are able to control the presets of various pedals or the function of an expression-pedal for analog pedals with an expression-pedal-jack as well as digital pedals with midi.

Apps

At least since TC Electronic launched the Toneprint Editor for their pedals, these can also be controlled by app. The same applies to the pedals of Source Audio. Next to the parameters which can be adjusted by the knobs, several other parameters can be controlled in this way.

Liked it? Take a second to support Delay Dude on Patreon!

Kontrolle über Effektparameter

Expression Pedale, Midi, CV und Apps

Moog Expression PedalExpression Pedale

Das erste Pedal, das mit einem Expression-Pedal in Echtzeit gesteuert werden konnte, war das Uni-Vibe. Der Vorteil war, dass man die Geschwindigkeit anpassen konnte, ohne die Hände von den Saiten zu nehmen. Später gab es diese Funktion auch bei Auto-Wahs. Auf diese Weise konnte das Pedal wie ein echtes Wah gesteuert werden.

Auch bei einigen Delays, die kein Tap Tempo besitzen, kann man die Geschwindigkeit oft mit einem Expression-Pedal steuern.

Für kurze Zeit gab es mal das T.I.P. Third Hand Pedal. Den Anschluss des Pedals konnte man direkt auf ein Poti eines beliebigen Pedals schrauben. Damit wurde jeder Parameter eines Effektpedals mechanisch mittels eines Pedals regelbar.

Die Expression-Pedale von Source Audio und neuerdings auch von Electro Harmonix ermöglichen zudem das Ansteuern von zwei oder mehr Effektgeräten mit einem Pedal. Dies ist auch mit dem Moog MP-201 möglich.

CV

Was in der Synthesizer Welt allgegenwärtig ist, scheint für den Gitarristen (noch) sehr ungewöhnlich: die Steuerung mittels CV. CV (Control Voltage) ist eine Steuerspannung zwischen 0V und 5V. Entsprechend der Steigerung der Spannung wird der hier der Effektparameter wie mit einem Expression-Pedal geändert.

Electro Harmonix ermöglicht bei vielen seiner Pedale die Steuerung durch Anschluss eines Expression-Pedals oder der CV. Effektgeräte von Chase Bliss und natürlich Moogs Moogerfooger (welche aus dem Synthesizer stammen) ermöglichen dies ebenfalls.

Midi

Auch wenn sich viele Gitarristen weigern, Midi in ihr Setup zu integrieren, kann es ebenfalls sehr nützlich sein. Vor allem seit zum Beispiel Eventide das H9 herausgebracht hat, das eine Midi Clock besitzt. So kann das H9 automatisch zum Song synchronisiert werden. Oder man kann die Presets automatisch laden. Wenn man mehrere midi-kompatible Pedale oder zum Beispiel das Line6 M5 mit dem Eventide H9 verbindet, kann man Delays und Tremolos leicht synchronisieren.

Einige Looper (Disaster Area, Gigrig) können ebenfalls per Midi gesteuert werden. Dies macht gerade bei einem komplexen Setup mit mehreren Strymon Pedalen Sinn.

Midi Controller, wie zum Beispiel das Moog MP-201 stellen sogar eine komplette Schaltzentrale da. Sie können die Presets mehrerer Pedale oder aber die Funktion eines Expression-Pedals sowohl bei analogen Effekten mit Expression-Pedal-Anschluss als auch bei digitalen Pedalen per Midi steuern.

Apps

Spätestens seit TC Electronic seinen Toneprint Editor für seine Effektgeräte herausgebracht hat, können Effekte auch per App gesteuert werden. Ebenso funktioniert dies bei den Effekten von Source Audio. Neben den Parametern, die von der Effektoberfläche mittels Potis eingestellt werden, können auf diese Weise noch zahlreiche weitere Einflussgrößen eingestellt werden.

Liked it? Take a second to support Delay Dude on Patreon!