Analog delay sound

Analog delay pedals are not all equal. By now, there are so many different pedals that you cannot speak of THE analog delay sound anymore.

Technology

A guitarist speaking of an analog delay mostly refers to a Bucket-Brigade Device (BBD) -based delay pedal.
Seen for a technical point of view, tape delays and oil can delays are also analog delay pedal.
Actually, the BBDs are some kind of analog/digital hybrids, because the signal is sampled discrete time based by the chip.
The difference between discrete time based sampling and digital sampling is, that the discrete time is only quantized temporarily, while the digital sampling quantizes temporarily as well as in the amplitude.
To keep this technical aspect as simple as possible, I would like to explain the way how an analog Bucket-Brigade Device delay works briefly: the so-called Bucket-Brigade device leads the voltage from one transistor/capacitor cell to the next. This works just like a Bucket-Brigade. According to a Bucket-Brigade, there is always some loss when the signal is transmitted again. Thereby, the signal alters depending on the transmission distance / the number of repeats.

The sound

Initially, the sound of an analog delay has been quite dull and somehow blurred. Because of the circuit, the maximum delay time was about 300 to 400 ms.
The headroom of many analog delays was limited what led to the fact, that the pedals their selves caused a slightly distortion.
But especially this provides the attraction of an analog delay because the signal fits perfect into the mix and melts with the sound of the guitar.
Today, there are numerous analog delay pedals with bright and percussive repeats which offer a maximum delay time of 1.2 seconds. If you are able to accept some hiss and a lo-fi sound, you can even get up t 4 seconds.
The short setting of the Moog Moogerfooger- 104M SD provides a sound that is as clear as the sound of a good digital delay pedal.

Modulation

Because of the minimal variability of the delay time, many analog delays are able to provide modulation. Operating like a chorus pedal. A comparison that definitively makes sense, regarding the fact, that a chorus pedal actually is a delay too – only with a very short delay time and modulation.
By setting the modulation more intensive, you will get pitch effects because of the larger time shifting. If an analog delay pedal does not provide modulation, you can also create this kind of effect by turning the time pot back and forth slightly while you are playing your guitar. The modulation function of the pedal does in fact not work in a different way.

Oscillation

Another special titbit of analog delay pedals is oscillation. By turning the repeats knob into full clockwise direction, the signal will be built up until it overdrives. This sound can be used as a soundscape or as a crazy sonic element.

Conclusion

THE analog delay sound is not existing because the technology is not as limited as it has been initially. Nevertheless, the un-perfect, dirty and dark sound of an old analog delay still is one of the most famous ones.

Analog Delay Sound

Analog Delay ist nicht gleich Analog Delay. Es gibt mittlerweile so viele unterschiedliche Pedale, dass man gar nicht mehr von DEM Analog-Delay-Sound sprechen kann.

Technologie

Spricht ein Gitarrist von einem Analog Delay, so meint er meistens ein BBD (Bucket-Brigade Device) basiertes Delay Pedal. Rein technisch gesehen, ist ein Tape Delay oder ein Oil Can Delay aber ebenfalls analog. Und eigentlich handelt es sich bei einem BBD um einen analog/digital Hybriden, da der Chip das Signal diskret zeitbasiert sampelt.
Der Unterschied zwischen diskretem Zeit-Sampling und digitalem Sampling besteht darin, dass diskrete Zeit nur zeitlich quantisiert wird, während digitales Sampling sowohl zeitlich als auch in der Amplitude quantisiert wird.
Um den technischen Aspekt so einfach und verständlich wie möglich zu halten, möchte ich hier kurz die Funktion des analogen BBD Delays erklären: Der sogenannte Eimerkettenspeicher (BBD) leitet die Spannung von einer Transistor-/Kondensator-Zelle zur nächsten. Dies funktioniert wie eine Eimerkette. Und genau wie bei dieser gibt es beim Weitergeben jeweils einen geringen Verlust. Dadurch verändert sich das Signal je weiter es transportiert also wiederholt wird.

Der Klang

In den Anfängen war der Sound eines analogen Delays meist sehr dumpf, leicht verwaschen und aufgrund der Schaltung betrug die maximale Delayzeit nicht mehr als 300 bis 450 mS. Der Headroom vieler Delay Pedale war begrenzt und so haben die Pedale bereits selbst eine leichte Verzerrung erzeugt.
Aber gerade dies macht den Reiz eines analogen Delay aus, da sich das Signal immer sehr gut in den Gesamtsound einfügt und mit der Gitarre verschmilzt.
Heute gibt es zahlreiche Analog Delays mit höhenreichen und perkussiven Repeats, die eine maximale Delayzeit von 1,2 Sekunden erreichen. Wenn man etwas Rauschen und einen Lo-Fi Sound in Kauf nimmt, sogar bis zu 4 Sekunden!
Das Moog Moogerfooger-104M SD hat in seinem Short Setting einen so klaren Klang, dass es sogar eher an ein gutes Digital Delay erinnert.

Modulation

Durch minimale Schwankungen der Delayzeit können viele analoge Delays Modulation erzeugen. Dies funktioniert wie bei einem Chorus Pedal. Was einleuchtet, wenn man bedenkt, dass ein Chorus ist im Grunde ebenfalls ein Delay, mit einer sehr kurzen Delayzeit und Modulation ist.
Wird die Modulation stärker eingestellt, so ergeben sich aufgrund der größeren Zeitverschiebungen Pitch Effekte. Hat ein analoges Delay keine Modulation, so kann man diesen Effekt erzeugen, indem man den Time Regler leicht hin und her bewegt, während man spielt. Nichts anderes bewirkt die Modulation des Pedals.

Oszillation

Ein weiteres Schmankerl eines analogen Delay ist die Oszillation. Dreht man die Repeats ganz auf, so schaukelt sich das Signal auf, bis es verzerrt. Dieser Sound kann als Hintergrundfläche oder abgefahrenes Soundelement genutzt werden.

Fazit

DEN Analog Delay Sound gibt nicht, da die Technik nicht mehr so eingeschränkt ist, wie in ihren Anfängen. Trotzdem gehört der unperfekte und schmutzig-dunkle Sound eines alten Analog Delays immer noch zu den Beliebtesten.