Analog pedals vs. digital emulations

Ask the DudeFrequently the question arises which kind of pedal to chose: an analog one or a digital emulation?

It almost seems to be an article of faith and this is why I would like to illuminate this controversal issue. There is an enormous number of digital multi-effects: The Strymon Timeline, the Eventide Timefactor, the Empress Echosystem, the Source Audio Nemesis or the Boss DD-500, are the most famous ones. Each of them provides numerous types of delays and can be edited in different parameters.

Is more always better?

Functionality

Surely, the modern digital delays are pretty comfortable. Having tap tempo including subdivisions, modulation, midi control and stereo in- and outputs. On top you will get copious additional features like an included looper or a reverse echo with pitch effect.
For a guitarist of a top 40 coverband who needs uncountable different sound for one show a digital delays might be the perfect choice.

Although these multi delays are bigger than conventional pedals but in the end they need less space on the pedalboard than two analog and digital delays, not to mention a real tape delay.

Sound

But are these multis able to reach the sound quality of a single delay? Although the development is far advanced I would deny this question.
Digital delays in fact offer a great number of parameters to adjust the sound but I think that it is impossible to emulate the sound of a Boss DM-2 or a Deluxe Memory Man exactly.
Indeed some digital emulations enable the user to set the proportion of hiss (of an analog delay) nevertheless it is impossible to control the frequency response in such a way to emulate the natural sound variation of the repeats of an analog delay. These variations are much too complex and finally you will get a similar sound that maybe is not better or worth but at least is not identical to the sound of an analog delay.

Doubtless the question arises if you will hear the difference on stage or in the audience like you have heard while you have been adjusting the parameters at home. I think this is a question of feeling: when you like the sound you will feel comfortabe and accordingly your guitarplay will be. And this is what the audience will feel.

Conclusion

If you are searching for a specific delay sound it makes sense to chose a single delay pedal. But if you are looking for a wide range of sounds and some inspiring additional features the multi delay might be your first choice.

Analoges Pedal vs. digitale Nachbildung

Frag den DudeImmer wieder kommt die Frage auf, für welche Art von Pedal man sich entscheiden soll: ein analoges Pedal oder  eine digitale Emulation ? Es scheint  schon fast eine Glaubensfrage zu sein, welches Pedal es letztlich auf das Board schafft und so möchte ich mal einen genaueren Blick auf das strittige Thema werfen. Die Auswahl an digitalen Multi-Delays ist enorm: das Strymon Timeline, das Eventide Timefactor, das Empress Echosystem, das Source Audio Nemesis oder auch das Boss DD-500, um nur die bekanntesten zu nennen. Sie verfügen jeweils über zahlreiche Delaytypen und sind in den unterschiedlichsten Parametern editierbar.

Ist mehr auch gleich besser?

Funktionalität

Sicher, die modernen Digitaldelays sind sehr komfortabel. Sie haben Tap Tempo inklusive Subdivisions, Modulation, sind per Midi steuerbar und haben Stereo Ein- und Ausgänge. Hinzu kommen meist noch etliche zusätzliche Features, wie zum Beispiel ein eingebauter Looper oder ein Rückwärts Echo mit Pitch Effekt.

Für einen Gitarristen in einer Top 40 Band, der jeden Abend unzählige Sounds abrufen muss, ist dies sicherlich die beste Wahl.

Zwar sind diese Multi Delays etwas größer, als ein herkömmliches Pedal, allerdings nehmen sie oft weniger Platz auf dem Board ein, als ein separates Analogdelay und ein zusätzliches Digitaldelay – von einem echten Tapedelay ganz zu schweigen.

Sound

Aber können diese Delays auch die Klangqualität eines Einzeleffekts erreichen? Auch wenn die Entwicklung bereits weit vorangeschritten ist würde ich dies verneinen.

Auch wenn die Digitaldelays zahlreiche Parameter bieten, um den Sound einzustellen, ist es doch unmöglich, zum Beispiel exakt den Sound eines Boss DM-2 oder eines Deluxe Memory Man nachzubilden.

Oft bieten die digitalen Nachbildungen zwar die Möglichkeit den Anteil des Rauschens eines echten Analogdelays einzustellen. Trotzdem kann man nicht so exakt in den Frequenzbereich eingreifen, um die klanglichen Veränderungen der Wiederholungen eines analogen Delays exakt zu emulieren. Dazu sind diese Veränderungen zu komplex und man erhält lediglich einen ähnlichen Sound der nicht unbedingt schlechter oder besser klingen muss, er ist lediglich nicht identisch.

Sicher stellt sich die Frage, ob man auf der Bühne oder im Publikum den Unterschied noch genauso hört, wie beim Einstellen des Sounds zuhause. In diesem Zusammenhang denke ich, dass es eine Frage des Gefühls ist: Stimmt der Sound, dann fühlt sich der Gitarrist wohl und spielt auch demensprechend anders und das spürt auch das Publikum.

Fazit

Wenn man also nur einen bestimmten Delaysound haben möchte, ist es meist besser, sich für ein bestimmtes Delaypedal zu entscheiden. Möchte man ein möglichst großes Klangspektrum abdecken und noch ein paar inspirierende Zusatzfeatures, dann wählt man am besten ein Multi-Delay.

Liked it? Take a second to support Delay Dude on Patreon!