Which pedal should I get? Boss DD-7 vs. TC Electronic Flashback

If you are searching for a reasonably priced digital delay pedal, there is no way around the Boss DD-7 and the TC Electronic Flashback. But what features do these two pedals provide and which is appropriate for which propose?

Boss DD-7

At the beginning of 2019, the Boss DD-7 is the most recent pedal of the Boss digital delay series. The 9V stereo pedal comes around in the familiar Boss quality and appearance. Besides digital delay sounds, it also provides an analog delay emulation (of the legendary Boss DM-2), modulation and a reverse mode. Tap tempo can be active via the second function of the on/off switch or by an external TAP switch. The pedal offers up to 6400ms maximum delay time and an integrated looper. Furthermore, the buffered pedal has analog-dry-through. The pots, as well as the sub divisions of the tapped speed can be controlled by an external expression pedal.

TC Electronic Flashback

The TC Electronic Flashback is as pedalboard-friendly as the Boss DD-7.
The 9V pedal has stereo in- and outputs, true bypass and analog-dry-through. The delay speed can be controlled by strumming the guitar. Besides digital delay, modulation delay and analog emulation, you can choose between numerous other tone prints. And you can also create your own sounds with the pc- editor. The maximum delay time is about 7 seconds.
The Flashback as well provides an integrated looper, a reverse mode and sub-divisions.
The more recent version (Flashback 2) additionally offers an integrated expression pedal (mash function).

The comparison

Regarding the analog delay emulation both budget pedals provide an almost equal quality. With every repeat, the signal becomes a bit darker.
The reverse mode of either is also quite comparable.
But the modulation of both pedals varies a lot. The Boss DD-7 does only provide one preset which can not be fine-tuned and reminds of the sound of a Lesley speaker or a wobbling tape echo. This is where the Flashback definitively provides a better sound.
But the Boss digital mode convinces because of its percussive attack and the crisp repeats.

And finally, maybe this video might help to decide which pedal you should get if you are searching for a well-priced digital delay pedal.

Liked it? Take a second to support Delay Dude on Patreon!

Welches Pedal brauche ich? Boss DD-7 vs. TC Electronic Flashback

Auf der Suche nach einem günstigen Digital Delay kommt man an dem Boss DD-7 und dem TC Electronic Flashback wohl kaum vorbei. Doch welche Features bringen die beiden eigentlich mit und welches der beiden Digital Delays eignet sich wofür?

Boss DD-7

Das Boss DD-7 ist Anfang 2019 das aktuellste Pedal der Boss Digital Delay Reihe. In gewohnter Boss Qualität und Optik bietet das 9V Stereo- Pedal neben den Digital Delay Sounds auch noch eine Analog Delay Emulation (des legendären Boss DM-2), Modulation und einen Reverse Mode. Tap Tempo bietet das gute Stück über einen extern angeschlossenen Tap Taster oder über die zweite Funktion des Ein-/Aus-Schalters. Das Pedal bietet bis zu 6400 mS maximaler Delay Zeit und einen integrierten Looper. Darüber hinaus verfügt das gebufferte Pedal über Analog-dry-through.
Die Potis können über ein angeschlossenes Expression-Pedal steuern und gleichzeitig lassen sich die Sub-Divisions für die getappte Geschwindigkeit einstellen.

TC Electronic Flashback

Das TC Eletronic Flashback ist ebenso Pedalboard-freundlich wie das Boss DD-7. Das 9 V Pedal verfügt über Stereo-Ein- und Ausgänge, True Bypass und bietet ebenfalls Analog-dry-through.
Das Delay Tempo lässt sich bei dem Flashback über den Gitarrenanschlag steuern.
Es lassen sich neben Digital Delay, Modulations-Delay und Analog Emulation noch zahlreiche weitere Toneprints anwählen oder über den PC-Editior selbst erstelle Sounds hinzufügen. Die maximale Delay Zeit liegt bei sagenhaften 7 Sekunden.
Das Flashback hat ebenfalls einen integrierten Looper und bietet die Möglichkeit für Sub- Divisions.
In der aktuelleren Version (Flashback 2) ist darüber hinaus noch ein Expression-Pedal integriert (Mash-Funktion).

Der Vergleich

Hinsichtlich der Anlog Delay Emulation nehmen sich die beiden Vertreter der Budget Delay Kategorie nicht viel. Mit jeder Wiederholung wird das Signal etwas dunkler.
Auch der Reverse Modus ähnelt sich relativ stark.
Worin sich die beiden Pedale jedoch unterscheiden, ist die Modulation. Das Boss DD-7 verfügt lediglich über ein Preset, dass nicht fein eingestellt werden kann und eher etwas für Fans des Lesley-Speakers und leiernder Band-Echos ist. Hier geht das Flashback in meinen Ohren ganz klar als Sieger vom Platz.
Der Boss digital Modus überzeugt jedoch aufgrund seiner perkussiven Anschläge und der crispen Wiederholungen.

Und vielleicht kann dieses Video eine Entscheidungshilfe für all diejenigen sein, die auf der Suche nach einem günstigen Digital Delay sind.

Liked it? Take a second to support Delay Dude on Patreon!