Boss DD-8 vs. DD-7

dd-8With the DD-8 and the DD-3T Boss sends two new digital delays in the well-known compact enclosure in the race.

The DD-3T is identical with its predecessor, the DD-3. Only extended by tap tempo and the hold function is now called “Short Loop”.

But compared to its predecessor, the DD-8 offers some additional features.
Therefore, the maximum delay time has been extended from 6.4 to 10 seconds (by tap tempo).
Finally, this pedal is additionally equipped with a tape echo emulation and modes like warm, relay/reverb, glitch and shimmer. And since the DD-20, we know the warp effect which has also been added. At the moment, the glitch effect is very popular right now and it is a feature that is not even natural for compact delays.
I think, the new modes have been borrowed from the DD-20, the big brother of the DD-8. The DD-20s’ vintage digital creates a warmer sound; it also provides a shimmer mode and is able to create warp effects. Now, these modes have been integrated into a compact pedal.

While some think, that the loop function is a new and outstanding feature of the DD-8, one must consider that the DD-7 also provides a 40 second loop mode. The new looper was formerly only called “hold”.
But now, you can record overdubs and the looper can be started/stopped via an external pedal. Therefore, it is much more practicable.

The trails function is also a new feature. It can be adjusted in a way that the trails will remain after you have switched the pedal off. The DD-7 did not ask for permission: it always created such trails.

The remaining features (stereo, 9V, tap tempo,…) are similar to the features of the DD-7.
And also similar to the DD-7, the DD-8 also does still not provide the option to adjust the amount of modulation. Thus, you will have to be content with the preset and we all hope, that this time it is more discreet than the one of the DD-7. Actually, the modulation of the DD-7 was definitively the flaw of this Boss delay pedal.

So, the DD-8 might be very interesting for those who are looking for an extensive equipped delay with versatile functions. Sonically, the DD series are convincing since the 1980s and therefore, it is no wonder that you can find Boss DD delays on the pedalboards of famous guitarists as well as on those of the newbies.
Regarding the price-performance ratio, Boss pedals are definitively top.

Boss DD-8 vs. DD-7

dd-8Boss schickt mit dem DD-8 und dem DD-3T zwei neue digital Delays im bekannten, kompakten Format ins Rennen.

Das DD-3T ist mit dem Vorgänger, dem DD-3 identisch, und wurde lediglich um eine Tap Tempo Funktion ergänzt. Die Hold Funktion heißt nun „Short Loop“.

Das DD-8 hingegen hat gegenüber seinem Vorgänger, dem DD-7 ein paar zusätzliche Features zu bieten.
So wurde die maximale Delayzeit von 6,4 auf 10 Sekunden (per Tap Tempo) erhöht.
Es wurde endlich eine Tape Emulation integriert und außerdem die Modi Warm, Delay/Reverb, Glitch und Shimmer. Der hinzugefügte Warp Effekt dürfte einigen seit dem DD-20 bereits bekannt sein. Der Glitch Effekt scheint aktuell bei Gitarristen sehr beliebt sein und er ist in kompakten Delays nicht selbstverständlich.
Es ist anzunehmen, dass die neuen Modi dem großen Bruder, dem DD-500 entliehen sind. Eben jenes Delay Pedal bietet der mit dem Vintage Digital einen wärmeren Sound an, hat einen Shimmer Mode und kann Warp Effekte erzeugen. Diese Modi wurden nun in ein kompaktes Boss Pedal integriert.

Während einige die Loop Funktion des DD-8 für ein herausragend neues Feature halten, muss gesagt werden, dass bereits das DD-7 einen, ebenfalls 40 Sekunden langen, Loopmodus hat. Dieser wurde hier aber noch Hold genannt.
Allerdings können jetzt Overdubs aufgenommen werden und der Looper kann über ein extern angeschlossenes Pedal gestartet und gestoppt werden. Das macht ihn natürlich sehr viel praxistauglicher.

Neu ist die einstellbare Trails Funktion. Es kann also eingestellt werden, dass nach dem Ausschalten des Pedals noch Delay-Fahnen zu hören sein sollen. Dass DD-7 hat, ohne zu fragen, immer Trails erzeugt.

Die restlichen Features (Stereo, 9V, Tap Tempo, …) sind wie beim DD-7. Leider wurde dem DD-8 wieder keine Möglichkeit gegeben, den Anteil der Modulation zu regeln. Und so muss man sich mit dem voreingestellten Setting zufriedengeben und hoffen, dass dieses etwas dezenter ausfällt, als bei seinem Vorgängermodell. Die Modulation des DD-7 war nämlich die Schwachstelle des Boss Delays.

Interessant dürfte das DD-8 also für alle sein, die ein umfangreiches Delay mit vielseitigen Funktionen auf ihrem Pedalboard wollen. Klanglich kann die DD Serie ja bereits seit den 80ern überzeugen und so ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass ein Boss DD Delay sowohl auf professionellen Pedalboards bekannter Gitarristen, als auch auf Pedalboards von Newbies zu finden ist.
Im Bereich Preis/Leistung sind Boss Pedale jedenfalls top.