The 10 most exciting pages for guitarists

Ask the Dude

There are many good and informative pages for guitarists on the internet. I would like to present you a list of my favourite pages: Continue reading “The 10 most exciting pages for guitarists”

Effect history (Part 5): Retro boom of the 90s

Effect Pedal In the 90s there was a recollection. Grunge killed the dreams of the hairspray-metal bands and thus, also of the effect-industry. For cost reasons and also as a commercially statement many guitarists bought second hand pedals and were satisfied with two or three of them. The previous polished sound became rougher. Continue reading “Effect history (Part 5): Retro boom of the 90s”

Effect history (Part 3): die 70er – Revolution der Modulationseffekte

Effect PedalIn den 70ern wurden zahlreiche Effekte entwickelt. Die ersten OP-Amps vereinfachten den Aufbau von Effektgeräten enorm. So konnten auch komplexe Modulationseffekte, wie zum Beispiel Phaser, Chorus, Auto Wah und Flanger Effektpedale umgesetzt werden. Continue reading “Effect history (Part 3): die 70er – Revolution der Modulationseffekte”

Transparent Overdrives- The perfect Low Gain Sound

In many forums all over the world guitarist are searching for the “transparent overdrive”. But what is meant by this and does a transparent overdrive make sense?

Ibanez TS-9 TubescreamerTubescreamer

Tubscreamer and similar overdrives place great emphasis on the mids. This kind of overdrive is appropriate as an additional booster to an amplifier that is already overdriven. By creating haunting mids the sound of the guitar becomes more assertive and will be perceived much more in the context of the band as a whole. Continue reading “Transparent Overdrives- The perfect Low Gain Sound”

Effect history (Part 5): die 90er im Retro Boom

Effect Pedal In den 90ern gab es eine Rückbesinnung. Der Grunge hat die Träume der Hairspray-Metal Bands und damit auch der Effektindustrie zerstört. Aus Kostengründen und als kommerzielles Statement haben viele Musiker Second Hand Effekte gekauft und sich mit zwei bis drei Effektgeräten zufriedengegeben. Der zuvor sehr glattpolierte Sound wurde wieder rauer. „Effect history (Part 5): die 90er im Retro Boom“ weiterlesen

Effect history (Part 3): die 70er – Revolution der Modulationseffekte

Effect PedalIn den 70ern wurden zahlreiche Effekte entwickelt. Die ersten OP-Amps vereinfachten den Aufbau von Effektgeräten enorm. So konnten auch komplexe Modulationseffekte, wie zum Beispiel Phaser, Chorus, Auto Wah und Flanger Effektpedale umgesetzt werden. „Effect history (Part 3): die 70er – Revolution der Modulationseffekte“ weiterlesen

Transparente Verzerrer – Der perfekte Low Gain Sound

Oft wird in Foren nach dem “Transparenten Overdrive” gesucht. Aber was ist damit eigentlich gemeint? Und welchen Sinn macht ein transparenter Overdrive?

Tubescreamer

Tubescreamer und ähnliche Verzerrer erzeugen eine starke Betonung der Mitten. Diese Art von Overdrives ist daher eher als zusätzlicher Booster für einen bereits übersteuerten Verstärker oder einen Verzerrer geeignet. Durch die Mittenanhebung wird der Gitarrensound im Bandkontext durchsetzungsfähiger, da er besser wahrgenommen wird. „Transparente Verzerrer – Der perfekte Low Gain Sound“ weiterlesen