Downsizing Part 2

PedalboardLarge pedalboards with uncountable pedals on them might weaken the signal or at least change the sound in a certain way. In this case, it is secondary whether you use true bypass pedals or buffered ones. Even the length of the cables on your pedalboard will influence the sound. A purist plugs his guitar directly into the amp. Doubtless, this might be a very special sound experience because the signal will be loud and direct. But for most styles of music, this won’t be the perfect solution.

Even blues-guitarists who adjust the amp slightly overdriving and tune the degree of overdrive via the volume pot of their guitar, occasionally use at least a booster or something similar.

Joe Bonamassa seems to be like many other guitarists: on one tour he uses a pedalboard with several effects on it and on the next tour he has reduced his equipment to a minimum. I think, it is all about finding the balance between tone and functionality.
And because guitarists are in the rarest of cases satisfied with their sound, they are always searching for a better sonic solution.

Nobody dictates that a guitarist is allowed to use only one guitar, one cable and one amplifier. To be honest, I don’t know even one singe guitarist who constantly played his guitar that way. No matter if it is a Fuzz Face, a Tubescreamer or a delay pedal for a slightly slapback – there is always something beneath the feet of a guitarist. Even if it is a TC chorus used to split the signal.

In my honest opinion, pedals are necessary to improve the sound and to create various sonic nuances. Pedals have not been invented to impair the bypass signal, but to improve the sound. Frequently, this “inferior” signal is only perceived subjectively because the pedalboard reduces the volume quite slightly or lowers the bass or the heights in a certain way. These nuances can easily be readjusted via the amplifier.

Or you use an “always-on”-booster to freshen up the sound (click here for more information).

And, the electric guitar – a relatively young instrument – has not been designed to be played clean only. The pure sound of the tonewood will always be influenced by the pickups, the cables and the amplifier.
The focus is therefore less the desire for a specifically natural as for a especially nice sound.

Above all it is important that you feel comfortable with your pedalboard, that it is easy to handle and that the pedals can be changed quick and easily.
In the end, a pedalboard is something like the “ink fountain” of the guitarist which has to be arranged according to the respective mood.

Click here to learn more about downsizing.

Liked it? Take a second to support Delay Dude on Patreon!

Downsizing Teil 2

PedalboardGroße Pedalboards mit vielen Effekten können das Signal schwächen oder klanglich verändern. Dabei ist es nebensächlich, ob es sich bei den verwendeten Pedalen um True Bypass- oder gebufferte Pedale handelt. Selbst die Kabelstrecke zwischen den Pedalen beeinflusst den Klang.
Der Purist schließt seine Gitarre direkt an den Amp an. Sicherlich ist dies ein ganz besonderes Klangerlebnis, da das Signal laut und direkt erscheint. Aber für die wenigsten Musikrichtungen ist dies die optimale Lösung. Selbst bei Bluesgitarristen, die den Amp leicht zerrend einstellen und den Grad der Verzerrung mit dem Volume-Regler der Gitarre regeln, kommt gelegentlich zumindest ein Booster oder ähnliches zum Einsatz.

Joe Bonamassa ergeht es scheinbar, wie vielen Gitarristen: auf der einen Tour hat er noch ein Pedalboard mit einigen Effekten und bei der nächsten Tour hat er sein Equipment auf ein Minimum reduziert. Es gilt also immer, die Balance zwischen Klang und Funktionalität zu finden.
Und da man als Gitarrist nur in den seltensten Fällen mit seinem Sound zufrieden ist, wird stets nach einer klanglich besseren Lösung gesucht.

Niemand schreibt vor, dass man als Gitarrist lediglich eine Gitarre, ein Kabel und einen Amp benutzen sollte oder darf. Um ehrlich zu sein, fällt mir kein Gitarrist ein, der seine Gitarre auf Dauer auf diese Weise gespielt hat. Ob es ein Fuzz Face, ein Tubescreamer oder ein Delay für ein leichtes Slapback ist, irgendetwas lässt sich immer unter den Füßen der Gitarristen finden. Und sei es nur ein TC Chorus, der zum Splitten des Signals genutzt wird.

Pedale sind in meinen Augen einfach notwendig, um unterschiedliche Nuancen des Gitarrenspiels zu erzeugen und auch, um den Sound zu verbessern. Denn Effektgeräte sind nicht dazu da, um den Bypass-Klang zu verschlechtern, sondern um den Klang zu verbessern. Oft wird dieses „schlechtere“ Signal auch nur subjektiv wahrgenommen, da das Pedalboard die Lautstärke leicht reduziert oder die Bässe bzw. Höhen etwas absenkt. Diese Nuancen lassen sich jedoch leicht am Amp nachjustieren.

Oder man nutzt einen „always on“ Booster, um dem Klang die Frische zurückzugeben (mehr zu dem Thema findest du hier) .
Und die E-Gitarre ist ja – als relativ junges Instrument – nicht dafür designt, nur clean gespielt zu werden. Der reine Klang des Tonholzes wird ohnehin durch Pickups, Kabel und Verstärker bearbeitet. Im Fokus steht daher meist weniger der Wunsch nach einem besonders natürlichen als vielmehr der nach einem besonders schönen Signal.

In erster Linie zählt, dass man sich mit seinem Effektboard wohlfühlt, dass es einfach zu bedienen ist und dass einzelne Effektgeräte schnell und unkompliziert gegen andere ausgetauscht werden können. Denn das Pedalboard ist letztlich eine Art „Farbkasten“ des Musikers, der je nach Stimmung anders zusammengestellt werden muss.

Und hier erfährst du noch mehr zum Thema Downsizing.

Liked it? Take a second to support Delay Dude on Patreon!