My Top 10 delays

Effect PedalThese are the top 10 analog delays.
Of course this ranking is absolutely subjective.

1. Electro Harmonix – Deluxe Memory Man

There are copious versions of the Deluxe Memory Man. With the famous Electro Harmonix “Big” enclosure, with the smaller XO enclosure, with and without tap tempo but one thing always stays the same: its striking percussive sound. Although the DDM is an analog delay, its unique sound offers trebly repeats and a kind of modulation that somehow seems to be organic. It is and remains a classic that every delay loving guitarist should have played at least once in his life.
Click here for a video of the Electro Harmonix – Deluxe Memory Man.

2. Boss – DM-2

With its three knobs (repeat, echo, intensity) and 300ms maximum delay time the Boss DM-2 is a one trick pony – but it masters this trick perfectly. As a slapback delay it fits completely into the sound and thickens the guitar signal. There is no better delay for this purpose.
The recently debuted reissue provides an additional custom setting with an extended delay time.
Click here for a video of the Boss – DM-2.

3. Chase Bliss Audio – Tonal Recall RKM

I think there is no other analog delay that creates more flexible and bizarre sounds like the Chase Bliss Audio Tonal Recall RKM.
Something special is its “digital brain” which can be controlled by little dipswitches via expression pedal or midi. Despite its pure analog signal processing this “digital brain” allows a multifarious modulation. The sound of the Tonal Recall RKM is marvelous and because of the small enclosure it only needs little space on the pedalboard. What more do you need?
Click here for a video of the Chase Bliss Audio – Tonal Recall RKM.

4. Moog- Moogerfooger MF- 104M

In the course of the company history Moog also produced (limited) delays which recent versions can be controlled via midi and tap tempo. And of course many parameters can also be controlled by CV (control voltage). The sound of the MF-104M is unique and the built in pre-amp allows to create clean as well as dirty and boosted sounds. The minifooger series also offers a similar sounding delay without modulation.
Click here for a video of the Moog- Moogerfooger MF- 104M.

5. DOD – Rubberneck

Although the DOD Rubberneck has been debuted this year it has yet become a classic. Its sound is oriented to the previous model – the DOD 680 Analog Delay. The sound is a more dirty and with the gain pot you can add some extra dirt.
The new developed rubbernecking enables you to experiment and create totally new kinds of delay sounds.
Click here for a video of the DOD – Rubberneck.

6. Diamond Memory Lane 2

The closing of the production of MN3005 chips caused the end of the manufacturing of the Diamond Memory Lane 2. But nevertheless this delay with two presets and foot-controlled modulation is absolutely recommendable. Its sound is darker and can be variated by using the tone pot.
Click here for a video of the Diamond Memory Lane 2.

7. AnalogMan ARDX20

The sound of the AnalogMan ARDX20 is based on the legendary Ibanez AD9 delay which has been debuted in the 1980s. But it has got an extended maximum delay time and provides the opportunity to choose between two delay settings via foot switch. By adding the Amazeo (which is supposed to come out as a smaller version next year) you will also get tap tempo, different kinds of modulation and the possibility to save presets.
Click here for a video of the AnalogMan ARDX20.

8. MXR Carbon Copy

The MXR Carbon Copy is a workhorse and can be found on uncountable pedalboards. Its sound fits perfect into the guitar signal – similar to the sound of the Boss DM-2 – but the Carbon Copy also offers modulation and an extended delay time.
The Deluxe Version, which has been debuted recently provides tap tempo and the possibility to chose between the classical Carbon Copy sound and a bright version.
Click here for a video of the MXR Carbon Copy.

9. Ibanez AD Series

The extensive Ibanez AD Series (AD-9, AD-80, AD900, AD999, AD999pro, AD9pro, ADmini) as well as the Maxon delays (which are built up identically) are produced since the 1980s. Although the maximum delay time varies, every version shows the typical Ibanez AD Sound. They are perfect to thicken solo sounds or as a warm delay. I think in the diversity of good sounding models every guitarist should find a suitable one.
Only a version with modulation is missing yet.
Click here for a video of the Ibanez AD.

10. Way Huge Aqua Puss

One can say that the Way Huge Aqua Puss is the boutique version of the Boss DM-2 on which it is based. Way Huge developed this pedal to emphasize the virtues of the DM-2. With the Echo Puss and the Supa Puss Way Huge extended the series by models with modulation and tap tempo.
A video of the Way Huge Aqua Puss is coming soon.

Liked it? Take a second to support Delay Dude on Patreon!

Meine Top 10 Delays

Effect PedalHier möchte ich die 10 besten analog Delays vorstellen. Die Auswahl ist natürlich rein subjektiv.

1. Electro Harmonix – Deluxe Memory Man

Der Deluxe Memory Man ist in zahlreichen Ausführungen erschienen. Ob im legendären Electro Harmonix “Big”- Gehäuse, im kleineren XO Gehäuse, mit oder ohne Tap Tempo, aber eins bleibt immer gleich – sein markanter perkussiver Klang. Auch wenn es sich beim DMM um ein analoges Delay handelt, sind die Wiederholungen sehr höhenreich und haben trotzdem diese organische Modulation, die das Pedal einzigartig machen. Es ist und bleibt ein Klassiker, den jeder Delay- affine Gitarrist wenigstens einmal in seinem Leben gespielt haben sollte.
Hier gelangst du zu Videos des Electro Harmonix Deluxe Memory Man.

2. Boss-DM-2

Das DM-2 von Boss ist mit seinen drei Potis (Repeat, Echo und Intensity) und einer maximalen Delay – Zeit von lediglich 300 ms ein One Trick Pony – aber diesen Trick beherrscht es perfekt. Als Slapback Delay sitzt es perfekt im Sound und dickt das Gitarrensignal an. Für diesen Anwendungszweck gibt es kein besseres Delay-Pedal.
Nun wurde es von Boss endlich neu aufgelegt und verfügt zusätzlich über ein Custom Setting mit längerer Delay-Zeit.
Hier gelangst du zu Videos des Boss DM-2.

3. Chase Bliss Audio – Tonal Recall RKM

Es gibt wahrscheinlich kein analoges Delay, dass flexibler und abgefahrener in seinen Sounds ist, als das Chase Bliss Audio Tonal Recall RKM. Trotz seiner rein analogen Signalverarbeitung kann es mittels seines “digitalen Gehirns”, das von kleinen Dipswitches per Expression-Pedal oder Midi gesteuert wird, in unzählig vielen Variationen moduliert werden. Darüber hinaus klingt es hervorragend und nimmt aufgrund seines kleinen Gehäuses nur wenig Platz dem Pedalboard ein. Was will man mehr?
Hier gelangst du zu Videos des Chase Bliss Audio Tonal Recall RKM.

4. Moog-Moogerfooger MF-104M

Auch Moog hat im Laufe seiner Firmengeschichte immer wieder (limitierte) Delays produziert, die in der aktuellsten Version mit Midi und Tap Tempo gesteuert werden können. Wie von Moog Moogerfoogern gewohnt können zahlreiche Parameter ebenfalls per CV (Control Voltage) gesteuert werden. Der Klang des MF-104M ist einzigartig und der eingebaute Preamp ermöglicht vom cleanen Delay-Sound bis zum schmutzigen, geboosteten Sound alle Variationen, die man benötigt. In der Minifooger Serie wird ein ähnlich klingendes Delay angeboten, jedoch ohne die Modulation.
Hier gelangst du zu Videos des Moog Moogerfooger MF-104M.

5. DOD Rubberneck

Auch wenn das Rubberneck von DOD erst in diesem Jahr erschienen ist, ist es bereits ein Klassiker. Klanglich beruft es sich auf sein Vorgängermodell – das DOD 680 Analog Delay. Es hat einen etwas schmutzigeren Sound, der mit Hilfe des Gain Reglers noch gesteigert werden kann. Mit dem neu entwickelten und innovativen Rubberneck Effekt kann man sehr schön experimentieren und ganz neue Delay-Klänge erzeugen.
Hier gelangst du zu Videos des DOD Rubberneck.

6. Diamond Memory Lane 2

Auch wenn das Diamond Memory Lane 2 leider nicht mehr hergestellt wird, da die verwendeten MN3005 Chips nicht mehr hergestellt werden, ist es sehr zu empfehlen. Es verfügt über zwei Presets und die Modulation kann per Fußschalter ausgeschaltet werden. Es hat einen eher dunkleren Sound, der mit Hilfe des Tonepotis variiert werden kann.
Hier gelangst du zu Videos des Diamond Memory Lane 2.

7. AnalogMan ARDX20

Klanglich basiert das AnalogMan ARDX20 auf den legendären Ibanez AD9 Delays aus den 80ern. Jedoch verfügt es über eine längere maximale Delay-Zeit und die Möglichkeit, zwischen zwei Delay-Settings per Fuß umzuschalten. Ergänzt man das ARDX20 um das Amazeo (das nächstes Jahr wieder in einer kleineren Version angeboten werden soll), kann man die Delay-Zeit tappen, das Signal mit unterschiedliche Modulationen anreichern und Presets speichern.
Hier gelangst du zu Videos des AnalogMan ARDX20.

8. MXR Carbon Copy

Das MXR Carbon Copy ist ein echtes Arbeitstier und ist auf zahlreichen Pedalboards zu finden. Klanglich fügt es sich wie das Boss DM-2 sehr gut in den Gitarrensound ein, verfügt darüber hinaus jedoch auch noch über eine Modulation und eine längere maximale Delay-Zeit.
Aktuell ist das Carbon Copy in der Deluxe Version auf den Markt gekommen, das zusätzlich über Tap Tempo und einem Umschalten zwischen dem klassischen Carbon Copy Sound und dem der Bright Version ermöglicht.
Hier gelangst du zu Videos des MXR Carbon Copy.

9. Ibanez AD – Serie

Die sehr umfangreiche Ibanez AD Serie (AD-9, AD-80, AD900, AD999, AD999pro, AD9pro, ADmini) und die baugleichen Maxon Delays werden seit den 80ern produziert. In jedem Modell klingt trotz der jeweils unterschiedlich langen maximalen Delay-Zeit, der typische Ibanez AD Sound durch. Ideal zum Andicken von Solosounds oder als warmes Delay dürfte hier für jeden Gitarristen ein sehr gut klingendes Modell dabei sein. Lediglich eines mit Modulation fehlt bisher noch.
Hier gelangst du zu Videos des Ibanez AD.

10. Way Huge Aqua Puss

Das Aqua Puss stellt sozusagen die Boutique Variante des Boss DM-2, auf dem es basiert, dar. Es wurde damals von Way Huge entwickelt, um die Vorzüge des DM-2 weiter hervorzuheben und das ist ihnen gelungen. Auch hier gibt in Form des Echo Puss und Supa Puss noch weitere Modelle, die um Modulation und Tap Tempo erweitert wurden.
Ein Video des Way Huge Aqua Puss erscheint in kürze.

Liked it? Take a second to support Delay Dude on Patreon!