Evolution of the pedalboard

pedalboard smallStarting to play guitar, most guitarists dispense with effect pedals.
The guitar connected to the amp is all you need to be happy.

Phase 1

At the moment you learn that there are effect pedals, you will get a bit curious and mostly you will get an overdrive pedal for the start. The new sonic possibilities are overwhelming, and soon the thought comes to one’s mind: “If this one is so brilliant, why not try others also?”. This is where the “evolution of the pedalboard” starts.

Phase 2

You start rummaging in various guitar shops and try to find out which are the different kinds of pedal categories. Newbies mostly concentrate themselves to solid and well-priced effect brands like Boss or Joyo. The pedalboard habitually is built up with several stompboxes side by side, running on batteries. But the number of pedals rises. In this phase many “pedalboards” provide one pedal of each effect category. Thus, you frequently will find a chorus next to a phaser and a flanger. And the user is clueless of what these pedals are actually doing with his/her sound.

Phase 3

After clicking through some forums on the internet you found the concept of “boutique effects”. Little by little all pedals that have been on the pedalboard are replaced by the best of its respective category. And soon there will be numerous pedals made by Strymon, AnalogMan, Fulltone and similar manufacturers on your pedalboard. At this point you will also, for the first time, think about high-quality cables, a valuable power supply and an appropriate assembly of the pedalboard.

Phase 4

The board is big, heavy and error-prone. And, to be honest, there are pedals on the board like a pitch shifter or a bit crusher that you actually never use. Additionally, the dry thru signal that passed this pedalboard does not sound as fresh and powerful as the guitar directly connected to the amplifier. In this phase, some guitarists check out the benefit of a looper pedal that allocates each pedal to an own true bypass loop and which can be controlled via midi.
Now half of the pedals on the pedalboard are devices that does not affect the sound of the guitar: expression pedal, noise gate and switcher or controller.

Phase 5

In this phase you will think about the so-called “downsizing” for the first time. You set up a small pedalboard with about 5 pedals. But again, and again you arrange several pedals next to the pedalboard and after a short visit on “thegearpage” you buy another new device. The number of pedals on the current board varies between 5 and 8 until there is a radical cut: you restrict yourself to 3 effect pedals! The sound is much fresher now and switching becomes pretty easy. Regarding these 3 pedals you choose devices that comply with your very own preferences and which you really need for your own songs and your individual style of playing.

Some phases will be experienced in circles which means that a small board soon develops to a big one with switcher. At the moment, I am the most satisfied with a compact pedalboard with about 6 pedals because the signal path is relatively short, one multi power supply is enough to run all devices and the pedalboard can be carried pretty well.
And I don’t have to tell the other band members that in my bedroom there is one pedalboard for almost each phase of the pedalboard evolution…

Liked it? Take a second to support Delay Dude on Patreon!

Evolution des Pedalboards

pedalboard smallDie meisten Gitarristen nutzen, wenn sie anfangen E-Gitarre zu spielen, erstmal keine Effektgeräte. Die Gitarre wird direkt in den Amp gestöpselt und man ist bereits vom Klang begeistert.

Phase 1

Wenn man erfährt, dass es Effektgeräte gibt wird man natürlich neugierig und startet meist mit einem Verzerrer. Die neuen Klangmöglichkeiten sind so überwältigend, dass es nicht bei einem Effektgerät bleibt. Hier beginnt die „Evolution des Pedalboards“.

Phase 2

Nun stöbert man in verschiedenen Gitarrenläden und versucht erstmal zu erfahren, welche weiteren Effektkategorien es überhaupt gibt. Meist konzentriert man sich als Anfänger erst einmal auf solide und preiswerte Effektmarken, wie Boss oder vielleicht Joyo . Das Effektboard besteht meist noch aus einzeln, nebeneinander gelegten Effekten, die mit Batterien betrieben werden. Aber die Anzahl der verwendeten Effekte steigt weiter an. Viele „Pedalboards“ haben in dieser Phase ein Effektgerät jeder Kategorie. Und so findet man nicht selten Chorus, Phaser und Flanger auf dem Board, ohne dass der Nutzer überhaupt weiß, was diese Pedale eigentlich wirklich mit seinem/ihrem Sound machen.

Phase 3

Nun hat man sich durch einige Internetforen geklickt und ist auf den Begriff „Boutique Effekte“ gestoßen. Nach und nach werden also sämtliche Pedale durch das jeweils beste seiner Kategorie ersetzt. Und bald befinden sich zahlreiche Pedale von Strymon, AnalogMan, Fulltone und ähnlichen Herstellern auf dem Board. In dieser Phase wird nun auch zum ersten Mal über gute Kabel, ein ordentliches Netzteil und einen vernünftigen Aufbau des Pedalbords nachgedacht.

Phase 4

Das Board ist groß, schwer und Fehleranfällig. Und eigentlich nutzt man viele Effekte, wie Pitch Shifting und Bitcrusher auf dem Board eigentlich gar nicht. Das dry thru Signal klingt mit Pedalboard auch nicht mehr so frisch und kraftvoll, wie eine Gitarre, die direkt in den Amp gespielt wird. Manche Gitarristen versuchen es in dieser Phase mit einem Looper-Pedal, in dem jedes Pedal einen einzelnen True Bypass-Loop zugeordnet bekommt und das per Midi verwaltet werden kann. Das Pedalboard ist in jetzt oft zur Hälfte mit Geräten bestückt, die den Klang nicht verändern: Expression Pedal, Noise Gate, zusätzliche Switcher und Controller.

Phase 5

Hier kommt es zum ersten Mal zum sogenannten „Downsizing“. Ein kleines Pedalboard mit ca. 5 Effekten wird aufgebaut. Es werden jedoch immer wieder einzelne Pedale (aus Platzgründen) neben das Board gestellt und nach einem weiteren Besuch auf „thegearpage“ wird ein neues Pedal dazugekauft. Das aktuelle Board schwankt also immer zwischen 5 und 8 Pedalen bis es irgendwann den radikalen Schnitt gibt: man beschränkt sich auf 3 Effektpedale! Der Sound ist nun frischer und die Schaltvorgänge der weinigen Pedale sind sehr viel einfacher vorzunehmen, als bei einem großen Board. Bei den 3 Pedalen hat man sich für die Geräte entschieden, die klanglich den einen Vorlieben entsprechen und die man für seine eigenen Songs und seinen Spielstil auch wirklich benötigt.

Einige Phasen werden auch in Schleifen durchlebt und so gelangt man vom kompakten Pedalboard schnell wieder zum großen Board mit Switcher. Ich persönlich bin mit einem kompakten Pedalboard mit ca. 6 Pedalen (im Moment) am zufriedensten, da der Signalweg noch relativ kurz ist, ein Multinetzteil alle Geräte versorgen kann und sich das Board gut transportieren lässt.

Und den anderen Bandmitgliedern muss ich ja nicht sagen, dass es in meinem Musikzimmer zu Hause für nahezu jede Phase Pedalboard-Evolution ein eigenes Pedalboard gibt…

Liked it? Take a second to support Delay Dude on Patreon!