Synthesizer – more than 80s sounds

moog-minitaur„Synthesizer“ – this word and everything associated with it give shivers of horror to many guitarists and bass players. Instantly, the horrible sounds of the 80s come to one’s mind and the keyboarders actually have never been the popular members of a band.
But although many musicians do not want to here it: In fact, synthesizers, especially the analog ones, do not differ this much of a bass and sometimes even guitars.

How they work

While the tone of a guitar or bass is produced by the attack of the strings, a synthesizer uses oscillators to produce a constant tone. The tone pitch can be controlled by a keyboard which opens a gate while a key is pushed down and thereby makes the tone become perceivable.

After the signal have passed some filters, it will be modulated by Low Frequency Oscillators (LFOs) and finally be amplified by the amplifier.
Strictly speaking, as soon as the sounds of a guitar or a bass have been picked up by pickups they are nothing more than electric voltage that can be formed via effects and finally amplified by the amplifier.

In my honest opinion, playing a bass is closer to playing a synthesizer than to play a guitar.

Therefore, you should rather ask a bass player if he/she also plays a synthesizer instead of asking him or her if he or she is also playing the guitar. The bass player of my band is not afraid to confess, that he is unable to play the guitar.

The signal of a guitar or a bass corresponds to a sine wave. As soon as the signal reaches the headroom, the peaks will be clipped though a square waveform is formed. This process leads to the overdriven sound.
Synthesizers as well offer sine as well as square waveforms.

Sound

Actually, the sound of an analog synthesizer does not differ much from the sound of an electric bass guitar. In many songs both instruments are doubled to create a punchier sound.

Doubtless, synthesizers – especially the polyphonic ones – are able to produce soundscapes and sounds that are totally distinct from bass sounds, but the sound of bass synthesizers like the Moog Taurus or the more actual Moog Minitaur get pretty close to the sound of a bass guitar.

Effect pedals

All of the effect pedals that are used by guitarists work also in combination with synthesizers. Especially the ones that are typical for bass playing like octave effects, auto wahs or overdrive pedals can also be found in the world of synthesizers.

But delay, reverb and tremolo as well have not been invented only for guitarists. They are also able to conjure up soundscapes from a monophonic synthesizer.

So, don’t be afraid of using a synthesizer. Many current bands rediscovered this special instrument and to me, they sound pretty good…

Synthesizer – mehr als 80er Jahre Sounds

moog-minitaurWenn das Wort Synthesizer fällt, stellen sich bei vielen Gitarristen und Bassisten die Nackenhaare auf. Man assoziiert mit ihnen grauenhafte 80er Sounds und Keyboarder waren in Bands irgendwie noch nie beliebt. Doch auch wenn viele Musiker es nicht hören wollen: im Endeffekt unterscheiden sich gerade die analogen Synthesizer gar nicht so stark von einem Bass oder sogar einer Gitarre.

Funktionsweise

Während bei der Gitarre oder dem Bass der Ton durch das Anschlagen der Saite erzeugt wird, so erzeugen die Oszillatoren eines analogen Synths konstante Töne. Diese werden in der Tonhöhe dann durch die Tastatur gesteuert, die beim Tastenanschlag das Gate öffnet und den Ton hörbar macht. Das Signal wird dann durch Filter geschickt, mit LFOs (Low Frequency Oscillator) moduliert und schließlich im Amp verstärkt.

Wenn man es ganz genau nimmt, dann sind die Gitarren- und Basssounds, sobald sie vom Pickup abgenommen wurden, auch „nur“ Spannungen, die mit Effekten geformt und vom Amp schließlich verstärkt werden.

In meinen Augen ist der Bass spieltechnisch viel näher am Synth, als an der Gitarre. Daher sollte man Bassisten eher fragen, ob sie auch Synth spielen, als zu fragen, warum sie denn als Bassisten nicht zwangsläufig auch Gitarre spielen können. Der Bassist meiner Band steht zum Beispiel mit vollster Überzeugung dazu, nicht Gitarre spielen zu können.

Das Signal einer Gitarre oder eines Basses entspricht einer Sinuswellenform. Sobald das Signal den Headroom erreicht, werden die Spitzen aufgrund des Clippings gekappt – es entsteht eine Rechteck-Wellenform. Dadurch entsteht ein verzerrter Sound.
Synthesizer können als Wellenform ebenfalls zwischen Sinus- und Rechteckwellenform wählen.

Klang

Auch klanglich unterscheidet sich ein analoger Synthesizer gar nicht so sehr von einem E-Bass und bei vielen Songs wird beides sogar gedoppelt, um mehr Druck zu erzeugen.

Sicherlich können Synthesizer – gerade Polyphone – auch flächige Pads und vollkommen andere Sounds erzeugen. Aber gerade Bass Synthesizer wie der Moog Taurus oder der aktuellere Moog Minitaur kommen einem E-Bass schon erstaunlich nahe.

Effektgeräte

Alle Effekte, die man als Gitarrist nutzt, können letztlich auch mit einem Synthesizer verwendet werden. Gerade die Bass-typischen Effekte, wie Octaver, Auto Wah und Verzerrer sind in der Synthesizer Welt genauso zu finden.

Aber auch Delay, Reverb und Tremolo wurden nicht nur für Gitarristen erfunden. Sie können aus einem Monophonen Synthesizer ebenfalls flächige Sounds hervorzaubern.

Also, keine Angst beim Ausprobieren eines Synthesizers. Viele aktuelle Bands haben dieses Instrument wieder für sich entdeckt und klingen dabei richtig gut.

Liked it? Take a second to support Delay Dude on Patreon!