16-bit Arcade sounds – revival of the 80s

Tips & tricksThe 80s are back on the agenda. Whether fashion or music. And although the music business (as well as the fashion designers) committed some really bad crimes during the 1980s, the LoFi sounds of the 80s game consoles have been permanently engraved in our minds and ears. Far away from the perfect sound, always accompanied by some dirt and a slight tendency to kitsch. Pure nostalgia.
Therefore, in this article, I would like to present some pedals that are able to create such an Arcade sound. Continue reading “16-bit Arcade sounds – revival of the 80s”

The impedance of headphones

Tips & tricksIf you are looking for the perfect headphones on the internet, you will frequently find recommendations like: more is always better. But this does definitively not work for every kind of use. Continue reading “The impedance of headphones”

Yamaha NS-10 Studio Monitor

Tips & tricksThe Yamaha NS-10 Studio Monitor is still the most famous speaker in record studios all over the world. Although many, while using the NS-10 for the first time, are pretty disappointed. It does not provide the perfect sound that makes every mix sound brilliant. Quite the contrary: the first hearing impression mostly reveals a thin sound with less bass and too many mids. But it also offers some advantages. Continue reading “Yamaha NS-10 Studio Monitor”

Tips & Tricks: Songwriting Rig

Tips & tricksFor songwriting, as well as for practicing, every source of inspiration is important. I already wrote about a songwriting pedalboard, and in this second part I would like to add some ideas that might promote creativity. Continue reading “Tips & Tricks: Songwriting Rig”

Dunlop Echoplex EP 103

Dunlop EchoplexThe Dunlop Echoplex EP 103 is a pedalboard-friendly digital delay. By connecting the external tap footswitch, the 750 ms of maximum delay time can be extended up to 4 seconds. Continue reading “Dunlop Echoplex EP 103”

The fairytale of the bad compression

  Ask the DudeFrequently, I read comments on YouTube that it actually is impossibly to assess a sound of a pedal in demo video because of the compression.
I am in fact unable to understand these comments but nevertheless or even because of this lack of understanding I would like to dedicate this small article to this issue.

Continue reading “The fairytale of the bad compression”

Fluctuating mains voltage = different sound?

Ask the DudeAlmost every guitarist knows this phenomenon: in the rehearsal room the sound of the guitar was absolutely perfect, and the amp has been situated right in the sweet spot. But live on stage, the magic has disappeared. Continue reading “Fluctuating mains voltage = different sound?”

Effect pedals interacting with the whole setup

Ask the DudeOne loves the Tubescreamer, the other hates it. It is impossible to keep everyone happy. While to one guitarist the overdrive pedal sounds perfect, stresses the mids in an optimal way and creates the ultimate range of distortion, the same pedal seems hollow with the bass cut quite too much to another guitar player. Continue reading “Effect pedals interacting with the whole setup”

Fender Silverface Deluxe Reverb – Speaker Comparison (Jensen C12N vs. Vintage Oxford)

This is a comparison of two different 12″ speakers which have been (one by one) built into the same Fender Silverface Deluxe Reverb amp.
The first one is a Jensen C12 N Ceramic (current model).
The second one is a Vintage Oxford speaker.
Because I am the DelayDude, I do (self-evident) use a delay for this comparison.

Jazzmaster mit P90, Strymon DIG, Silverface Deluxe Reverb, Fame SC1100 Condenser Microphone, TS202 preamp, EMU 1820M, Cubase.

Synthesizer – more than 80s sounds

moog-minitaur„Synthesizer“ – this word and everything associated with it give shivers of horror to many guitarists and bass players. Instantly, the horrible sounds of the 80s come to one’s mind and the keyboarders actually have never been the popular members of a band. Continue reading “Synthesizer – more than 80s sounds”

7 questions to Mike Piera (AnalogMan)

7 questions to I am particularly pleased to be able to present an interview today, that, to me, is like an advanced Christmas present.
Although he has got a lot of work right now, Mike Piera, better known as AnalogMan, took the time to answer to my 7 questions. Continue reading “7 questions to Mike Piera (AnalogMan)”

Tips & Tricks: Stacking Boost Pedals

Tips & tricksYou are looking for a transparent overdrive pedal?
Your favorite one has too much gain and you are searching for the ultimate low gain overdrive?

Maybe an overdrive pedal is not the best choice for you. Continue reading “Tips & Tricks: Stacking Boost Pedals”

Kingsley Page V2 featuring Electro Harmonix Deluxe Memory Man

This is a demo how to use the Kingsley Page V2 with the Electro Harmonix Deluxe Memory Man.

gear: Fender Jazzmaster (classic player), Kingsley Page V2, EHX Deluxe Memory Man, Fender Champ, Celestion G12M Greenback, Shure SM57, Cubase.

16 Bit Arcade Sounds – Revival of the 80s

Tips & tricksDie 80er sind wieder angesagt. Egal ob in der Mode oder im Sound. Und auch wenn die Musikszene (genauso wie die Modeszene) in den 80ern einiges verbrochen hat, an das man sich lieber nicht erinnert, so haben sich die LoFi Sounds der Spielekonsolen der 80er in unser Gehirn gebrannt. Weit weg vom perfekten Klang, immer etwas Schmutz und ein leichter Hang zum Kitsch. Nostalgie pur. Daher möchte ich ein paar Effektgeräte vorstellen, die diesen Arcade Sound erzeugen können. „16 Bit Arcade Sounds – Revival of the 80s“ weiterlesen

Kopfhörer Impedanz

Tips & tricksWenn es um die Wahl der richtigen Kopfhörer und deren Impedanz geht, liest man in vielen Foren Aussagen nach dem Prinzip: mehr ist besser. Das ist aber definitiv nicht der Fall. „Kopfhörer Impedanz“ weiterlesen

Yamaha NS-10 Studio Monitor

Tips & tricksDer Yamaha NS-10 Studio Monitor ist nach wie vor die beliebteste Box in Tonstudios. Dabei sind viele, die den Lautsprecher zum ersten Mal hören, eher enttäuscht. Er liefert nicht den perfekten Sound, mit dem jeder Mix perfekt klingt. Im Gegenteil: beim ersten Höreindruck empfindet man den Speaker als eher dünn mit wenig Bässen und in den Mitten überbetont. Aber er hat auch seine Vorteile. „Yamaha NS-10 Studio Monitor“ weiterlesen

Tips & Tricks: Songwriting Rig

Tips & tricksSowohl bei Songwriting als auch beim Üben ist jede Inspirationsquelle wichtig. Ich habe bereits über ein Songwriting Pedalboard geschrieben und möchte hier im zweiten Teil noch ein paar Ideen dazu ergänzen, die die Kreativität fördern und die Möglichkeiten erweitern können. „Tips & Tricks: Songwriting Rig“ weiterlesen

Dunlop Echoplex EP 103

Dunlop EchoplexDas Dunlop Echoplex EP 103 ist ein Pedalboard-freundliches digital Delay.
Die 750 mS maximale Delay Zeit können mit einem externen Tap Fußschalter auf sagenhafte 4 Sekunden verlängert werden. „Dunlop Echoplex EP 103“ weiterlesen

Stereo – Mono Dual, True Stereo oder Dry Thru?

Frag den DudeEinige Gitarristen nutzen ein Stereo Rig. Aber was ist Stereo eigentlich? „Stereo – Mono Dual, True Stereo oder Dry Thru?“ weiterlesen

Das Märchen von der bösen Kompression

Frag den DudeImmer wieder lese ich in den Kommentaren bei YouTube, dass der Sound eines Pedal-Demovideos wegen der Kompression doch eigentlich überhaupt nicht zu beurteilen sei.Mir persönlich fehlt für diesen Kommentar jegliches Verständnis und trotzdem oder vielleicht gerade deswegen ist er mir tatsächlich einen kleinen Artikel wert.

„Das Märchen von der bösen Kompression“ weiterlesen

Kann die Netzspannung meinen Sound beeinflussen?

Frag den DudeJeder kennt das Phänomen: im Proberaum klang die Gitarre noch unglaublich gut, saß perfekt im Mix und der Amp war perfekt am Sweetspot. Auf der Bühne ist diese Magie plötzlich verschwunden. „Kann die Netzspannung meinen Sound beeinflussen?“ weiterlesen

Effektpedale im Zusammenspiel mit dem gesamten Setup

Frag den DudeDie einen lieben den Tubescreamer, die anderen hassen ihn. Man kann es nicht jedem recht machen. Während für die einen der Verzerrer genau die gewünschte Anhebung der Mitten und den richtigen Grad der Verzerrung erzeugt, klingt er für den anderen zu „topfig“ und die Bässe scheinen zu sehr beschnitten. „Effektpedale im Zusammenspiel mit dem gesamten Setup“ weiterlesen

Fender Silverface Deluxe Reverb – Speaker Vergleich (Jensen C12N vs. Vintage Oxford)

Dies ist ein Vergleich von zwei verschiedenen 12″ Lautsprechern, die (nacheinander) in den gleichen Fender Silverface Deluxe Reverb Amp eingebaut wurden.
Der erste ist ein Jensen C12 N Ceramic (Aktuelles Model).
Der zweite ein Vintage Oxford Speaker.
Und weil ich der DelayDude bin, benutze ich (selbstverständlich) auch in diesem Vergleich ein Delay.

Jazzmaster mit P90, Strymon DIG, Silverface Deluxe Reverb, Fame SC1100 Condenser Microphone, TS202 preamp, EMU 1820M, Cubase.

Synthesizer – mehr als 80er Jahre Sounds

moog-minitaurWenn das Wort Synthesizer fällt, stellen sich bei vielen Gitarristen und Bassisten die Nackenhaare auf. Man assoziiert mit ihnen grauenhafte 80er Sounds und Keyboarder waren in Bands irgendwie noch nie beliebt. „Synthesizer – mehr als 80er Jahre Sounds“ weiterlesen

7 questions to Mike Piera (AnalogMan)

7 questions to I am particularly pleased to be able to present an interview today, that, to me, is like an advanced Christmas present.
Although he has got a lot of work right now, Mike Piera, better known as AnalogMan, took the time to answer to my 7 questions. „7 questions to Mike Piera (AnalogMan)“ weiterlesen

Tips & Tricks: Stacking Boost Pedals

Tips & tricksDu hättest gerne einen transparenten Overdrive?
Dein Lieblingsverzerrer hat zu viel Gain und du suchst den ultimativen Low Gain Overdrive?

Vielleicht ist ein Overdrive Pedal dann gar nicht die richtige Wahl. „Tips & Tricks: Stacking Boost Pedals“ weiterlesen

Kingsley Page V2 featuring Electro Harmonix Deluxe Memory Man

In diesem Video zeige ich, wie man den Kingsley Page V2 mit dem Electro Harmonix Deluxe Memory Man kombinieren kann.

gear: Fender Jazzmaster (classic player), Kingsley Page V2, EHX Deluxe Memory Man, Fender Champ, Celestion G12M Greenback, Shure SM57, Cubase.

Kingsley Page V2 Review

Kingsley Page V2Der „Kingsley Page V2 Tube Boost“ ist ein Röhrenbooster und Overdrive Pedal mit einer echten 12AX7 Röhre. „Kingsley Page V2 Review“ weiterlesen