Sound like: Amber Run

Sound likeFor some time, the British band Amber is no longer an insider’s tip and songs like “I found” and “no answers” are definitively high-class tunes.
But their pedalboards also offer some cuties that will make the hearts of guitarists beat faster. Continue reading “Sound like: Amber Run”

Sound like: Balthazar

Sound likeTo me, Balthazar have been one of the major discoveries for the past years. First, I joined one of their concerts as a supporting- act of the Editors and I must confess: I was totally amazed.
The sound as well as the style of this band is unique and hard to describe – therefore, just click here and listen.
In this article, I would like to present the bands’ equipment which is so decisive for their sound. Continue reading “Sound like: Balthazar”

Effect pedals for bass players – part 2

Tips & tricksThe majority of effect pedals are made for guitarists and therefore, many bass players fear the contact with the small (and sometimes big) devices that can add a special character to the sound.
In the first part of this two-part series, I already presented some effect categories, every bass player can use without taking any risks. In this second part, we will have a closer look on effects, that require a bit more sensitivity.
So, boys and girls behind the fat strings: go for it! Continue reading “Effect pedals for bass players – part 2”

Effect pedals for bass players – part 1

Tips & tricksThe majority of effect pedals are made for guitarists and therefore, many bass players fear the contact with the small (and sometimes big) devices that can add a special character to the sound.
In the first part of this two-part series, I would like to present some effect categories, every bass player can use without taking any risks. In the second part, we will have a closer look on effects, that require a bit more sensitivity.
So, boys and girls behind the fat strings: go for it! Continue reading “Effect pedals for bass players – part 1”

News +++ Guitar Summit 2019 +++ News

NewsFor the third time, the Guitar Summit opens the doors from the 27th to the 29th of September in Mannheim (Germany). Continue reading “News +++ Guitar Summit 2019 +++ News”

Delay pedals for bass players?

Ask the DudeDelay pedals are a great invention and every guitarist should own at least one. But not only guitarist can benefit from the effects of a delay pedal. Bass players also can venture into a new realm by using a delay pedal. But there is one thing you should take into consideration. Continue reading “Delay pedals for bass players?”

Synthesizer – more than 80s sounds

moog-minitaur„Synthesizer“ – this word and everything associated with it give shivers of horror to many guitarists and bass players. Instantly, the horrible sounds of the 80s come to one’s mind and the keyboarders actually have never been the popular members of a band. Continue reading “Synthesizer – more than 80s sounds”

Sound like: Amber Run

Sound likeDie britische Band Amber Run ist schon lange kein Geheimtipp mehr und hat mit Songs wie „I found“ und „no answers“ ordentliche Hits gelandet.
Auch auf Ihren Pedalboards haben sie einige Schätzchen, die so manchen Gitarristen begeistern können. „Sound like: Amber Run“ weiterlesen

Sound like: Balthazar

Sound likeFür mich war Balthazar eine der größten Entdeckungen der letzten Jahre. Zum ersten Mal habe ich sie als Vorband der Editors gesehen und war begeistert.
Die Band hat einen eigenen, unbeschreiblichen Sound und Style – aber hör es dir am besten hier selbst an.
Ich möchte in diesem Artikel das Equipment der Band vorstellen, das für den Sound entscheidend ist. „Sound like: Balthazar“ weiterlesen

Effekte für den Bass – Teil 2

Tips & tricksDer Großteil der Effektgeräte wurde für Gitarristen konzipiert und so haben einige Bassisten noch immer Berührungsängste mit den kleinen (und auch großen) Geräten, die einem Sound einen besonderen Anstrich verleihen können.
Nachdem wir uns im ersten Teil dieser zweiteiligen Serie mit Effektgeräten beschäftigt haben, die von jedem Bassisten gefahrlos eingesetzt werden können, möchte ich nun einige Effekte vorstellen, deren Einsatz von Bassisten (aber auch von Gitarristen) ein kleines bisschen Fingerspitzengefühl erfordert.
Also Jungs und Mädels an den dicken Saiten, traut euch! „Effekte für den Bass – Teil 2“ weiterlesen

Effekte für den Bass – Teil 1

Tips & tricksDer Großteil der Effektgeräte wurde für Gitarristen konzipiert und so haben einige Bassisten noch immer Berührungsängste mit den kleinen (und auch großen) Geräten, die einem Sound einen besonderen Anstrich verleihen können.
In diesem ersten Teil dieser zweiteiligen Serie geht es zunächst um Effektgeräten, die von jedem Bassisten gefahrlos eingesetzt werden können, bevor wir uns im zweiten Teil all den Bodentretern widmen, die ein kleines bisschen Fingerspitzengefühl erfordern.
Also Jungs und Mädels an den dicken Saiten, traut euch! „Effekte für den Bass – Teil 1“ weiterlesen

News +++ Guitar Summit 2019 +++ News

NewsBereits zum dritten Mal öffnet die Guitar Summit in Mannheim in der Zeit vom 27. Bis zum 29.09.2019 ihre Türen für Gitarristen und Bassisten aus aller Welt. „News +++ Guitar Summit 2019 +++ News“ weiterlesen

Delay Pedale für den Bass?

Frag den DudeDelays sind eine großartige Erfindung und jeder Gitarrist sollte mindestens eins besitzen. Aber nicht nur Gitarristen können von den Effekten eines Delays profitieren. Auch Bassisten können sich durchaus mal in neue Gefilde vorwagen. Hierbei gibt es jedoch etwas zu beachten. „Delay Pedale für den Bass?“ weiterlesen

Synthesizer – mehr als 80er Jahre Sounds

moog-minitaurWenn das Wort Synthesizer fällt, stellen sich bei vielen Gitarristen und Bassisten die Nackenhaare auf. Man assoziiert mit ihnen grauenhafte 80er Sounds und Keyboarder waren in Bands irgendwie noch nie beliebt. „Synthesizer – mehr als 80er Jahre Sounds“ weiterlesen