Neunaber Expanse

Neunaber ExpanseThe Neunaber Expanse is a pedalboard-friendly digital delay that, in combination with the Expanse software sonically offers almost everything a delay-addicted can long for. Continue reading “Neunaber Expanse”

DOD Rubberneck vs. Way Huge Supa-Puss

This is a comparison of the DOD Rubberneck with the Way Huge Supa-Puss. Find out more about the sound of these analog delay pedals. Besides the default settings, I present the sound at a darker and grittier setting, vibrato and chorus effects and how they both might sound in the mix.

0:10 default setting Continue reading “DOD Rubberneck vs. Way Huge Supa-Puss”

Electro Harmonix Memory Toy

Memory toyThe Electro Harmonix Memory Toy is one of the few pedalboard-friendly analog delays of the Memory-series.
The propitious basis version comes around without any frills. Continue reading “Electro Harmonix Memory Toy”

7 questions to Christos Ntaifotis (Crazy Tube Circuits)

7 questions toThe Crazy Tube Circuits Echotopia was one of the most unexpected delays I learned to know in 2019. This is why I think, we all should learn a bit more about the man behind the great pedals from Greek. Continue reading “7 questions to Christos Ntaifotis (Crazy Tube Circuits)”

Source Audio Nemesis vs. Electro Harmonix Deluxe Memory Man

This is a comparison of the Source Audio Nemesis with the Electro Harmonix Deluxe Memory Man.

gear: Fender Telecaster, Fender Tweed Champ, Celestion G12M, Shure SM57, Cubase.

Review: Vintage Boss CE-1 Chorus Ensemble

Boss CE-1 Chorus EnsembleThe Boss CE-1 Chorus Ensemble was the first chorus pedal that has been put on the market in the 1970s.
Originally, the wiring of this pedal has been integrated into the legendary Roland Jazz Chorus amplifier. Continue reading “Review: Vintage Boss CE-1 Chorus Ensemble”

Punchy Guitar-Sound

AmpEspecially in the songs of hard rock or heavy metal bands the guitars sound pretty voluminous and punchy.
One produces this kind of sound by combining several microphones for the recording but notably by doubling the guitar-tracks or by multi-tracking. Continue reading “Punchy Guitar-Sound”

Downsizing

PedalboardAlthough many guitarists love large pedalboards, most of them go into raptures over the sound that originates when the guitar-signal runs straight into the amplifier. The dynamic is increased and the guitar has got a higher output. Continue reading “Downsizing”

Effect history (Part 5): Retro boom of the 90s

Effect Pedal In the 90s there was a recollection. Grunge killed the dreams of the hairspray-metal bands and thus, also of the effect-industry. For cost reasons and also as a commercially statement many guitarists bought second hand pedals and were satisfied with two or three of them. The previous polished sound became rougher. Continue reading “Effect history (Part 5): Retro boom of the 90s”

Modulation pedals

ModulationseffekteChorus

First of all, a chorus creates an exact copy of the signal. Subsequently one of these signals is, similar to a delay, reproduced delayed. But the delays of the sound are so short that they are not perceived as delays. They only last 2 up to 70 ms. Continue reading “Modulation pedals”

DOD Rubberneck vs. Way Huge Supa-Puss

Dies ist ein Vergleich des DOD Rubberneck mit dem Way Huge Supa-Puss. Lerne den Sound dieser beiden analogen Delays kennen. Neben Standard-Einstellungen zeige ich den Sound bei einer dunkleren und schmutzigeren Einstellung,Vibrato- und Chorus-Effekte und wie beide Pedale im Mix klingen können.

0:10 default setting „DOD Rubberneck vs. Way Huge Supa-Puss“ weiterlesen

Electro Harmonix Memory Toy

Memory toyDas Electro Harmonix Memory Toy präsentiert sich als eines der wenigen Pedalboard-freundlichen analog Delays aus der Memory-Reihe.
Ohne viel Schnickschnack kommt diese günstige Basis-Version eines analogen Delays daher. „Electro Harmonix Memory Toy“ weiterlesen

7 Fragen an Christos Ntaifotis (Crazy Tube Circuits)

7 Fragen anDas Crazy Tube Circuits Echotopia war eines der überraschendsten Delays, die ich im Jahr 2019 kennengelernt habe. Für mich Grund genug, etwas mehr über den Mann hinter diesem und zahlreichen anderen spannenden Effekten aus Griechenland erfahren zu wollen.
Hier sind also die 7 Fragen an Christos Ntaifotis. „7 Fragen an Christos Ntaifotis (Crazy Tube Circuits)“ weiterlesen

Source Audio Nemesis vs. Electro Harmonix Deluxe Memory Man

Dies ist ein Vergleich des Source Audio Nemesis mit dem Electro Harmonix Deluxe Memory Man.

gear: Fender Telecaster, Fender Tweed Champ, Celestion G12M, Shure SM57, Cubase.

Review: Vintage Boss CE-1 Chorus Ensemble

Boss CE-1 Chorus Ensemble Das Boss CE-1 Chorus Ensemble war das erste Chorus-Pedal, das in den 70ern auf den Markt kam.
Die Schaltung des Pedals wurde ursprünglich im legendären Roland Jazz Chorus Verstärker verbaut. „Review: Vintage Boss CE-1 Chorus Ensemble“ weiterlesen

Druckvoller Gitarren-Sound

AmpGerade im härteren Rock oder Metal klingen die Gitarren vieler Bands auf den Alben sehr voluminös und druckvoll. Dies wird natürlich zum einen durch das Kombinieren von mehreren Mikrofonen bei der Aufnahme, vor allem aber auch durch das Doppeln und mehrfache Einspielen der Gitarrenspuren erzeugt. „Druckvoller Gitarren-Sound“ weiterlesen

Downsizing

PedalboardAuch wenn Gitarristen oft große Effektboards haben, schwärmen viele von dem direkten Sound der entsteht, wenn die Gitarre direkt in den Amp eingestöpselt wird. Die Dynamik ist erhöht und die Gitarre hat einen höheren Output. „Downsizing“ weiterlesen

Effect history (Part 5): die 90er im Retro Boom

Effect Pedal In den 90ern gab es eine Rückbesinnung. Der Grunge hat die Träume der Hairspray-Metal Bands und damit auch der Effektindustrie zerstört. Aus Kostengründen und als kommerzielles Statement haben viele Musiker Second Hand Effekte gekauft und sich mit zwei bis drei Effektgeräten zufriedengegeben. Der zuvor sehr glattpolierte Sound wurde wieder rauer. „Effect history (Part 5): die 90er im Retro Boom“ weiterlesen

Modulationseffekte

ModulationseffekteChorus

Ein Chorus erzeugt zunächst eine exakte Kopie des Signals. Anschließend wird eines dieser Signale, wie bei einem Delay, zeitverzögert wiedergegeben. Allerdings sind die Verzögerungen bei einem Chorus so kurz, dass sie nicht als Delay wahrgenommen werden. Sie sind ca. 2 bis 70 ms lang. „Modulationseffekte“ weiterlesen