Review: Nux Atlantic -Part II

Nux AtlanticIn the second part of this review, you will get to know all about the sound of the astonishing Nux Atlantic. Continue reading “Review: Nux Atlantic -Part II”

Review: Nux Atlantic -Part I

Nux AtlanticThe first part of this two-part review is dedicated to the construction of the Nux Atlantic delay/reverb. And in the second part you will get to know all about the sound of this astonishing bargain. Continue reading “Review: Nux Atlantic -Part I”

Lovepedal Hermida EPH-3

lovepedal hermida eph-3The Lovepedal Hermida EPH-3 is a pedalboard-friendly digital delay.
Inicially, the tape echo emulation has been produced by Hermida. Some time ago, Lovepedal aquired Hermida. Continue reading “Lovepedal Hermida EPH-3”

How to use the TC Electronic DITTO X4 as a granular looper

This is a video about a real time random sampling with the TC Electronic DITTO X4 and the Elektron Digitakt. The random reverse and pitch effects are triggered via midi by the Digitakt. Everything has been recorded via the Electron Digitakt into Ableton Live.

gear: Fender Telecaster, TC Electronic DITTO X4, Elektron Digitakt, Ableton Live

I did not know that I can use the TC Electronic DITTO X4 as a ….

This is a video about how to use the TC Electronic DITTO X4 as a delay effect by connecting it to the Elektron Digitakt. Check out how to create different delay times like quarters, eighths and half notes. I also present a tape reverse as well as a tape stop effect. If you are interested in a step-by-step instruction, please let me know.

0:10 normal speed = quarter notes Continue reading “I did not know that I can use the TC Electronic DITTO X4 as a ….”

DIY Pedalboard

Tips & tricksAlthough a pedalboard actually is only a basis for effect pedals, it can be so much more than this.
There are numerous manufacturers that offer almost all sizes and variants. But frequently, a DIY pedalboard can be tailored to your very own needs and it can also be much more favorable. Continue reading “DIY Pedalboard”

16-bit Arcade sounds – revival of the 80s

Tips & tricksThe 80s are back on the agenda. Whether fashion or music. And although the music business (as well as the fashion designers) committed some really bad crimes during the 1980s, the LoFi sounds of the 80s game consoles have been permanently engraved in our minds and ears. Far away from the perfect sound, always accompanied by some dirt and a slight tendency to kitsch. Pure nostalgia.
Therefore, in this article, I would like to present some pedals that are able to create such an Arcade sound. Continue reading “16-bit Arcade sounds – revival of the 80s”

Review: Wampler Faux Tape Echo

Wampler Faux Tape EchoAlready, there are 3 versions of the Wampler Faux Tape Echo with the purple sparkling enclosure.
While the third version allows to adjust the subdivisions, the version 1.2, that will be presented in this review, provides the possibility to deactivate the modulation.
The first version came along without tap tempo, but it offered modulation with envelope – thus, the intensity has been controlled via the string attack. Continue reading “Review: Wampler Faux Tape Echo”

Obituary: Jim Dunlop – more than the Cry-Baby

Plektren In a certain way he was like the doctor of the music scene. Besides his brilliant own inventions, Jim Dunlop brought dead ones back to life. Continue reading “Obituary: Jim Dunlop – more than the Cry-Baby”

TC Electronic DITTO X4 als Granular Looper

Dies ist ein Video über Real Time Sampling mit dem TC Electronic DITTO X4 und dem Elektron Digitakt. Die Aufnahme erfolgte über das Digitakt in Ableton Live. Die zufälligen Reverse und Pitch- Effekte sind via Midi ebenfalls durch das Digitakt getriggert.

gear: Fender Telecaster, TC Electronic DITTO X4, Elektron Digitakt, Ableton Live

Ich wusste noch nicht, dass ich den TC Electronic DITTO X4 nutzen kann als ….

Dies ist ein Video darüber, wie man den TC Electronic DITTO X4 zusammen mit dem Elektron Digitakt als Delay Effekt nutzen kann. Finde heraus, wie man unterschiedliche Delayzeiten wie Viertel, Achtel und halbe Noten erzeugen kann. Und selbst Tape Reverse und Tape Stop- Effekte sind so möglich.
Wenn du interessiert an einer Step-by-Step Anleitung zu diesem Video bist, lass’ es mich bitte wissen.

0:10 normal speed = quarter notes „Ich wusste noch nicht, dass ich den TC Electronic DITTO X4 nutzen kann als ….“ weiterlesen

DIY Pedalboard

Tips & tricksAuch wenn Pedalboards nur die Plattform für die Effektgeräte sind, so sind sie doch ein Thema für sich. Zahlreiche Hersteller bieten sie in nahezu allen Größen und Varianten an. Aber nicht selten ist ein selbstgebautes besser auf die eigenen Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten und es kann auch kostengünstiger sein. „DIY Pedalboard“ weiterlesen

16 Bit Arcade Sounds – Revival of the 80s

Tips & tricksDie 80er sind wieder angesagt. Egal ob in der Mode oder im Sound. Und auch wenn die Musikszene (genauso wie die Modeszene) in den 80ern einiges verbrochen hat, an das man sich lieber nicht erinnert, so haben sich die LoFi Sounds der Spielekonsolen der 80er in unser Gehirn gebrannt. Weit weg vom perfekten Klang, immer etwas Schmutz und ein leichter Hang zum Kitsch. Nostalgie pur. Daher möchte ich ein paar Effektgeräte vorstellen, die diesen Arcade Sound erzeugen können. „16 Bit Arcade Sounds – Revival of the 80s“ weiterlesen

Testbericht: Wampler Faux Tape Echo

Wampler Faux Tape EchoDas Wampler Faux Tape Echo in seinem lila glitzernden Gehäuse gibt es bereits in der 3. Version. Während bei der dritten Version die Subdivisions einstellbar sind, kann man bei der hier vorgestellten Version 1.2 die Modulation deaktivieren.
Die erste Version war noch ohne Tap Tempo, aber dafür mit einer Modulation mit Envelope, deren Intensität dementsprechend durch den Anschlag der Saiten in ihrer Intensität gesteuert. „Testbericht: Wampler Faux Tape Echo“ weiterlesen

Nachruf: Jim Dunlop – mehr als das Cry-Baby

Plektren Ein bisschen war er wieder der Arzt der Musik-Szene, denn neben zahlreichen eigenen großartigen Erfindungen, verhalf Jim Dunlop Tot-Gesagten zu neuem Leben. „Nachruf: Jim Dunlop – mehr als das Cry-Baby“ weiterlesen