Team DelayDude at SUPERBOOTH 2024

DelayDude Superbooth Berlin 2024The SUPERBOOTH in Berlin is a highlight for the DelayDude team every year and so in 2024 we won’t miss the opportunity to enjoy the great days from May 16th to 18th at the FEZ in Wuhlheide.

We have already conducted some exciting interviews for AMAZONA and will also report on the SUPERBOOTH itself.

Continue reading “Team DelayDude at SUPERBOOTH 2024”

(Deutsch) Aktuelle DelayDude-Tests und Artikel bei AMAZONA.de Januar/Februar 2024

Sorry, this entry is only available in Deutsch.

DelayDude recommends

I’ve been a musician since I was a little boy and I have tested numerous guitars, amps, effect pedals as well as groove boxes, synthesizers and many accessories for musicians. On DelayDude.de we have described many of these for you and you can find numerous tests, demos and comparisons of effects pedals on our YouTube channel. Continue reading “DelayDude recommends”

7 questions to Vlad Kreimer (SOMA Laboratory)

Vlad KreimerVlad Kreimer, the founder of SOMA Laboratory, comes without a lab coat. In our interview he tells us how he got into music, who he would like to use his devices and which device from another manufacturer he would love to have invented. Continue reading “7 questions to Vlad Kreimer (SOMA Laboratory)”

BOSS RE-202 Space Echo: The DelayDude review on Amazona.de

Boss RE-202 Space EchoIt’s no secret that I am slightly addicted to delay pedals, and there have been some brilliant pedals that really thrilled me. Therefore, I really enjoyed testing the BOSS RE-202 Space Echo for a detailed review for Amazona.de. Continue reading “BOSS RE-202 Space Echo: The DelayDude review on Amazona.de”

Arturia MicroFreak with delay effect pedals

In this video I want to show you how to combine a synthesizer like the Arturia MicroFreak with delay effect pedals for guitars as a little suggestion for sound experiments. This synthesis opens up completely new worlds of sound and can definitely expand the sonical horizon. Have fun trying.

 

Arturia MicroFreak with reverb pedals for guitars

In this second part of my two-part series, I would like to show you how you can combine a synthesizer like the Arturia MicroFreak with reverb effect pedals for guitars as a small suggestion for sound experiments. As already shown in the first part about the combination with delay pedals, this relationship can also open up completely new worlds of sound. Have fun trying.

Save the date: SUPERBOOTH 2022

Hard to believe, but true: the time has come! Finally, an event we didn’t have to wait for forever because the SUPERBOOTH by Schneiders Laden actually takes place in May.
From the 12th of May to the 14th of May, the FEZ in Berlin opens its doors, gates and outdoor facilities for the fans of electronic music from all over the world. Continue reading “Save the date: SUPERBOOTH 2022”

Planning a small pedalboard

A reader’s question:

I guess, you are well versed in planning pedalboards.
I have a big studio board, which I like a lot, but for it is not even easy to manage the transport.
Now, I want to assemble a smaller and more compact pedalboard.
For overdrive effects I use my amp and the Ibanez Tubescreamer TS 808 and the Vahlbruch Kaluna.
Due to the lack of space, delay and modulation ought to be (as far as possible) combined in one enclosure. I also think midi might be important…
The Boss GT 1000 Core could be one of those which offers all the sounds I know (DD, MD and RV of the 500 series).
But it also has uncountable overdrive effects that I do not need. Nevertheless, is the quality of the delay, modulation and reverb therefore worse?
Do you know an alternative to the GT 1000 Core, or do you think it is ok?
I really like Boss pedals, live on stage and also in the rehearsal room. And especially here, I need a compact pedalboard.
In the studio I use my big pedalboard – mostly analog.
By the way: I am not even a fan of editing, so a small display and a easy handling would be perfect.

DelayDude:

Its always a bit difficult to assemble a compact pedalboard that is also flexible.
The Boss GT 1000 Core might be a solution, but for you already have several overdrive pedals, it would be even better to choose a pedal that is specialized in creating delay- and reverb-effects. The more features a pedal offers, the less capacity can be used for every single effect.
But if you want a multi effect anyway, the Eventide H9 might be interesting for you. It offers midi, is compact and has a superb sound. Furthermore, you can select 4 parameters per preset directly and control them via a pot. After you have successfully completed the programming, it is pretty easy to handle. But it is not able to combine several effects. Thus, it would only act as a delay or a reverb.
As an alternative, you could also choose the Line6 M5. It offers midi as well, sounds pretty nice, is a real bargain, the programming is quite easy and it is compact.
I use the M5 on one of my pedalboards as a supplement. But, similar to the H9, it only offers one effect at the time.
The handling of the HX Stomp whereas seems somewhat confusing to me.

For most combined pedals have a certain focus, it makes sense to think about your preferences first. What is more important to you: a delay or a reverb?

The Boss devices (DD-500 and RV- 500) also offer a reverb and a delay setting. If you are looking for a flexible delay and only need a little reverb, the DD-500 might be the perfect match for you anyway.

And the Empress Echosystem offers reverb besides the numerous delay effects.
For the Boss pedal as well as the Empress pedal offer the possibility to combine two presets, you would be able to get both.

But the only “real” pedal that combines delay and reverb and that can be controlled via midi is the Source Audio Collider. It is a combination of the Nemesis and the Ventris. But for a really distinguished adjustment, you will have to use the app. Anyway, if you have adjusted the basic sound (or use the presets), the pots will be sufficient to customize the sound.

Sound vs. handling

Provided that you are also looking for modulation, things will get a bit more complicated.
Of course, you can use the delay part of the Collider to create effects like chorus/vibrato (modulation of the delay time) and tremolo (modulation of the level), but this is not as easy as with one of the common modulation- effect. In this case, the handling of a multi-effect would be easier. In the end, you have the choice between sound and handling.

If the pedal ought to be compact and extensively equipped at the same time, you won’t be able to avoid menus and a display to adjust your sounds. Or you chose two pedals instead of one. The Collider for superb delay/reverb and a separate modulation pedal. With midi control in addition, this might be a very good option.

It always depends on your individual preferences and needs. For there is always too little space on the pedalboard, I dispense with a modulation pedal and create the vibrato- or tremolo-effect with my delay pedals. And I can also forgo flanger and phaser.
Regarding a compact pedalboard, to me it is generally more important to pare my pedals down to those which are really necessary for my music.
And to be honest, I don’t like menu-diving or the use of apps as well, thus I use the space on my pedalboard for the most important effect pedals.

Mostly, it makes sense to start with a little number of pedals first and add further pedals later. Removing a (unused) pedal from the pedalboard is habitually harder.
For I love delay- and reverb-sounds, I use only little space on my pedalboard for drive pedals (either booster and overdrive in one enclosure or even a single overdrive pedal).
And less pedals on the board will in the end improve your basic sound.

Enjoy planning your new pedalboard!

Ibanez Echo Shifter ES3 review part 2

While the first part of this review was dedicated to the design of the Ibanez ES3 Echo Shifter, now it comes to the crunch: the sound of this brilliant delay pedal. Continue reading “Ibanez Echo Shifter ES3 review part 2”

Ibanez Echo Shifter ES3 review part 1

Ibanez ES3Certainly, the Ibanez ES2 has been a resounding success: the slider inspires experimenting and the beautiful analog delay does not only sound very pleasing, it also provides a brilliant oscillation.
The device was made and still is perfect für dark delays and sonic escapades.

With the ES3 Echo Shifter, Ibanez now remastered the great predecessor and added some sought-after features.

This first part is dedicated to the design of the Ibanez ES3 Echo Shifter, while in the second part you will learn all about the sound of this great delay pedal. Continue reading “Ibanez Echo Shifter ES3 review part 1”

A question regarding the wet output + volume poti mod for the EHX Freeze

A reader’s question:

I have got a question regarding the Wet Output + Volume Poti Mod and the Remote Switch Mod for the EHX Freeze.
Is the volume mod supposed to control the volume of the wet signal or the dry signal or the mix?
And will the function of the original switch of the Freeze remain after the installation of the output for the additional switch? In other words: Could the bass player in my band control the Freeze on my pedalboard from the other side of the stage while I am playing the WahWah? Continue reading “A question regarding the wet output + volume poti mod for the EHX Freeze”

Which pedal should I get?

A reader’s question:

Last year (after several years of playing the guitar) I finally bought my first effect pedals: the Walrus Audio Slö, the Earthquaker Devices Westwood and the Ditto looper.
I mostly listen to minimal, indie and ambient and therefore, I would love to create such sounds myself. But unfortunately, I have not made up my mind about a specific sound. Continue reading “Which pedal should I get?”

Strymon Brigadier

Strymon BrigadierThe Strymon Brigadier is a relatively pedalboard-friendly dbucket digital delay.
It comes around in the Strymon-typical gentle, but pleasing design and offers, depending on the respective mode up to 5000ms of maximum delay time. Continue reading “Strymon Brigadier”

Effect pedals for recording

Tips & tricksToday, almost every musician records his/her music at home. Mostly via a soundcard directly into a DAW.
There, you will find numerous VST effects to create a sophisticated sound.
But many effect pedals as well are also suitable for recording. Continue reading “Effect pedals for recording”

DelayDude empfiehlt

Pedal EmpfehlungenIm Laufe der Zeit als Musiker habe ich zahlreiche Gitarren, Amps, Effektgeräte aber auch Grooveboxen, Synthesizer und viel Zubehör getestet. Auf unserem Blog DelayDude.de haben wir davon viele für dich beschrieben und auf unserem YouTube-Kanal finden sich zahlreiche Tests, Demos und Vergleiche von Effektpedalen. „DelayDude empfiehlt“ weiterlesen

7 Fragen an Vlad Kreimer (SOMA Laboratory)

Vlad KreimerGanz ohne Laborkittel kommt Vlad Kreimer, der Gründer von SOMA Laboratory daher. In unserem Interview erzählt er uns, wie er zur Musik kam, von wem er sich wünscht, dass er oder sie mal seine Geräte nutzen würde und welches Gerät eines anderen Herstellers er gerne erfunden hätte. „7 Fragen an Vlad Kreimer (SOMA Laboratory)“ weiterlesen

BOSS RE-202 Space Echo: Der DelayDude-Test auf Amazona.de

Boss RE-202 Space EchoEs ist ja kein Geheimnis, dass ich ein kleines Faible für Delay-Pedale habe und es gab bisher schon einige, die mich wirklich begeistert haben. Daher war es für mich ein besonderes Vergnügen, für Amazona.de das Boss RE-202 Space Echo testen zu können. „BOSS RE-202 Space Echo: Der DelayDude-Test auf Amazona.de“ weiterlesen

Arturia MicroFreak mit Delay Effekt-Pedalen

In diesem Video will ich als kleine Anregung für Sound-Experimente mal zeigen, wie man einen Synthesizer wie den Arturia MicroFreak mit Delay -Effektpedalen für Gitarren kombinieren kann. Diese Synthese eröffnet vollkommen neue Klangwelten und kann den klanglichen Horizont definitiv erweitern. Viel Spaß beim Ausprobieren.

 

Arturia MicroFreak mit Reverb Gitarren-Effektpedalen

In diesem zweiten Teil meiner zweiteiligen Serie möchte ich als kleine Anregung für Sound-Experimente mal zeigen, wie man einen Synthesizer wie den Arturia MicroFreak mit Reverb -Effektpedalen für Gitarren kombinieren kann. Wie schon im ersten Teil über die Kombination mit Delay Pedalen gezeigt, kann auch diese Beziehung ganz neue klangliche Welten erschließen. Viel Spaß beim Ausprobieren.

Save the Date: SUPERBOOTH 2022

Kaum zu glauben, aber wahr: es ist schon wieder soweit! Endlich mal ein Event, auf das wir nicht ewig warten mussten, denn schon im Mai findet die nächste SUPERBOOTH statt. Wie immer organisiert von Schneiders Laden.
Vom 12. Bis 14. Mai öffnet das FEZ in Berlin Türe, Tore und Außenanlagen für Fans der elektronischen Musik aus der ganzen Welt. „Save the Date: SUPERBOOTH 2022“ weiterlesen

Planung für ein kleines Pedalboard

Eine Leserfrage:

Ich nehme an, du kennst dich auch mit Pedalboards aus.
Habe ein größeres Studioboard, und bin damit sehr zufrieden, aber für den Transport usw. ist es nicht grade optimal.
Jetzt will ich mir ein Kompaktes auf kleinem Raum machen.
Overdrive kommt ausschließlich vom Amp und 2 Pedalen, Ibanez Tubescreamer TS 808 und Vahlbruch Kaluna.
Aus Platzgründen müssen Delay und Modulation, wenn möglich, in einem Pedal
und flexibel sein. Denke sicher mit Midi…
Der Boss GT 1000 Core wäre z.B. so eins, und hat die Sounds drin, die ich teils kenne (DD, MD, und RV von der 500er Serie).
Er hat aber noch Unmengen an Overdrives usw., die ich nicht brauche.
Ist jetzt deswegen das Delay, Modulation und Reverb in Qualität schlechter?
Hast du eine Alternative zum GT 1000 Core, oder ist er auch so ok?
Ich bin mit Boss immer gut gefahren, live und im Proberaum. Eben dafür brauche ich ein kompaktes Board.
Im Studio habe ich ja das große Board, hauptsächlich Analog.
Ach ja, ich bin kein großer Fan vom Editieren, also wäre ein kleines Display und eine einfache Menüführung super.

DelayDude:

Es ist immer recht schwierig ein kompaktes Pedalboard zusammenzustellen, das trotzdem flexibel ist. Das Boss GT 1000 wäre natürlich eine Lösung, aber da du schon Overdrives hast, ist es eigentlich besser, wenn man für Delays und Reverb ein Pedal nimmt, das sich genau darauf konzentriert. Denn je mehr Features ein Pedal hat, umso weniger Rechenleistung hat meist der einzelne Effekt.

Wenn es trotzdem ein Multi-Effekt sein soll, wäre eventuell der Eventide H9 interessant. Es hat Midi, ist kompakt und hat einen super Sound. Darüber hinaus können 4 Parameter pro Preset direkt über Tasten angewählt und dann per Poti geregelt werden. Wenn man es also erstmal programmiert hat, ist es eigentlich leicht zu bedienen. Allerdings kann es keine Effekte kombinieren. Es wäre also nur ein Delay oder nur ein Reverb.

Alternativ gibt es dann den Line6 M5. Es hat ebenfalls Midi, klingt sehr gut, ist extrem preiswert, leicht zu programmieren und kompakt.
Ich habe das M5 auf einem Pedalboard zur Ergänzung. Allerdings kann es auch nur einen Effekt zurzeit erzeugen.
Den HX Stomp finde ich hingegen eher unübersichtlicher.

Da die meisten kombinierten Pedale einen Schwerpunkt haben, ist es zunächst wichtig zu überlegen, ob dir der Delay- oder der Reverb-Part wichtiger ist.

Die Boss Geräte (DD-500 und RV-500) haben jeweils ebenfalls ein Reverb- bzw. Delay-Setting. Wenn man also ein flexibles Delay braucht und ein wenig Reverb wäre vielleicht das DD-500 trotzdem ideal.

Das Empress Echosystem hat neben den zahlreichen Delay ja ebenfalls Reverb.
Da man sowohl beim Boss als auch beim Empress zwei Presets kombinieren kann, ist es möglich hiermit beides abzudecken.

Das einzige “richtige” Pedal, das wirklich Delay und Reverb beinhaltet und per Midi steuerbar ist, wäre das Source Audio Collider. Es besteht zu einer Hälfte aus einem Nemesis und zur anderen aus einem Ventris. Möchte man hier klanglich wirklich fein justieren, müsste man allerdings eine App nutzen. Wenn man den Grundsound jedoch eingestellt hat (oder die Presets nutzt) reichen die Regler des Pedals aus, um den Sound anzupassen.

Sound vs. Handhabung

Sofern dann aber noch Modulation hinzukommen soll, wird es schon schwieriger. Sicherlich, kannst du mit der Delayseite des Collider auch Chorus/Vibrato- (Modulation der Delayzeit) und Tremolo- (Modulation der Lautstärke) Effekte erzeugen, allerdings ist dies nicht so leicht, wie bei einem konventionellen Modulationseffekt. Dann wäre ein Multi-Effekt wiederum einfacher in der Handhabung. Letztlich müsste man also Sounds vs. Handhabung abwägen.

Wenn das Pedal kompakt und gleichzeitig umfangreich sein soll, wirst du im Grunde um Menüs und Display, zumindest beim Erstellen deiner Sounds, nicht herumkommen. Oder du entscheidest dich dafür, zwei Pedale anstelle von einem. Das Collider für super Delays/Reverb und ein separates Modulationspedal. Und wenn dann alles per Midi gesteuert wird, wäre das auch eine gute Option.

Es kommt also immer auf das Einsatzgebiet und die persönlichen Vorlieben an. Da der Platz auf dem Pedalboard eigentlich immer zu gering ist, habe ich auf meinem Pedalboard zum Beispiel kein Modulationspedal und erzeuge Vibrato- und Tremolo- Effekte mit den Delays. Auf Flanger und Phaser kann ich persönlich verzichten.
Generell finde ich es wichtiger, gerade bei einem kompakten Pedalboard, nur die Effekte zu haben, die für die eigene Musik wirklich relevant sind.
Ich mag es auch nicht, mich durch Menüs zu klicken oder Apps zu nutzen, daher nutze ich den Platz auf dem Pedalboard nur für meine wichtigsten Effektgeräte, um so den besten Sound zu erhalten.

Oft hilft es, erst einmal Pedale wegzulassen und später zu ergänzen. Das fällt meist leichter, als ein einmal verbautes (ungenutztes) Pedal wieder vom Pedalboard zu nehmen. Da mir Delay- und Reverb- Sounds sehr wichtig sind, nutze ich eher weniger Platz für meine Drives (entweder Boost und Overdrive in einem Pedal oder sogar nur ein Overdrive-Pedal).
Und weniger Pedale auf dem Board verbessern letztlich auch den Grundsound.

Viel Spaß beim Pedalboard planen!

Testbericht: Ibanez Echo Shifter ES3 Teil 2

Ibanez ES3Während der erste Teil dieses Testberichts sich mit dem Design des Ibanez ES3 Echo Shifters beschäftigt hat, geht es jetzt ans Eingemachte: Erfahre alles über den Sound dieses wunderbaren Delay Pedals. „Testbericht: Ibanez Echo Shifter ES3 Teil 2“ weiterlesen

Testbericht: Ibanez Echo Shifter ES3 Teil 1

Ibanez ES3Schon das ES2 von Ibanez war bereits ein voller Erfolg: Der Slider animiert zum Experimentieren und das wunderbare analoge Delay klingt nicht nur gut, sondern bietet auch eine klasse Oszillation.
Das Gerät war und ist für dunkle Delays und Soundeskapaden wie gemacht.

Mit dem ES3 Echo Shifter hat Ibanez den bereits hervorragenden Vorgänger nochmals überarbeitet und um ein paar oft angefragte Features ergänzt.

Dieser erste Teil des zweiteiligen Testberichts widmet sich dem Design des ES3, bevor es im zweiten Teil um den Sound dieses wunderbaren Delay Pedals gehen soll. „Testbericht: Ibanez Echo Shifter ES3 Teil 1“ weiterlesen

Frage zum Wet Output + Volume Poti Mod für das EHX Freeze

Frage an den Dude:

Ich habe mal eine Frage zum Wet Output + Volume Poti Mod beziehungsweise dem Remote Switch Mod für EHX Freeze.
Bezieht sich der Volume Mod auf das Effekt-Volume oder das cleane Signal oder den Mix? Und ist die Buchse für den extra Taster für einen zusätzlichen Taster wobei die Funktion von dem Taster auf dem Freeze erhalten bleibt? Sprich, wäre es möglich, dass mein Bassist vom anderen Ende der Bühne das Freeze auf meinem Pedalboard steuert, während ich das WahWah nutze? „Frage zum Wet Output + Volume Poti Mod für das EHX Freeze“ weiterlesen

Welches Pedal brauche ich?

Eine Leserfrage:

Letztes Jahr habe ich (nach einigen Jahren des Gitarre-Spielens) endlich meine ersten Pedals gekauft: das Walrus Audio Slö, das Westwood von Earthquaker Devices und den Ditto Looper. Am liebsten höre ich Minimal, Indie und Ambient und würde auch gerne selbst in die Richtung gehen. Einen genauen Klang habe ich aber leider noch nicht unbedingt im Kopf. „Welches Pedal brauche ich?“ weiterlesen

Strymon Brigadier

Strymon BrigadierDas Strymon Brigadier ist ein relativ pedalboard-freundliches, dbucket digital Delay. Im Strymon-typisch dezenten, aber ansprechenden Design bringt das Brigadier je nach Mode bis zu 5000mS maximaler Delayzeit mit. „Strymon Brigadier“ weiterlesen

Effektpedale fürs Recording

Tips & tricksFast jeder Musiker nimmt heutzutage seine Musik im Heimstudio auf. Meist über eine Soundkarte direkt in eine DAW.
Dort gibt es zahlreiche VST Effekte, mit denen der Sound verfeinert werden kann.
Aber es eignen sich auch Gitarreneffekte für das Recording. „Effektpedale fürs Recording“ weiterlesen

7 Fragen an Yoshi Ikegami (Boss)

7 Fragen anIch schätze, es gibt keinen Gitarristen/ Bassisten auf der Welt, der nicht mindestens ein BOSS-Pedal besitzt. Und auch mich begleiten die Effekte, die unter der Leitung des Firmenpräsidenten Yoshi Ikegami hergestellt werden, seit meinen ersten musikalischen Schritten.
Von daher ist es mir eine besondere Ehre, dass er sich die Zeit genommen und auf die 7 Fragen des Delay Dude geantwortet hat. „7 Fragen an Yoshi Ikegami (Boss)“ weiterlesen