Tips & Tricks: MXR Carbon Copy Deluxe

Tips & tricksSeveral times I found in guitar forums the comment that some guitarists can`t deal with the mix pot of the MXR Carbon Copy Deluxe. It is true: you have to turn the pot into full clockwise direction to get a delay signal which is a bit louder than the clean guitar signal. Continue reading “Tips & Tricks: MXR Carbon Copy Deluxe”

Delay pedals for bass players?

Ask the DudeDelay pedals are a great invention and every guitarist should own at least one. But not only guitarist can benefit from the effects of a delay pedal. Bass players also can venture into a new realm by using a delay pedal. But there is one thing you should take into consideration. Continue reading “Delay pedals for bass players?”

Tips & Tricks: Effect pedals – Mark your settings

Tips & tricksOnce found, every guitarist is willing to save the perfect settings of his pedals. There are various possibilities to protect the pots from unintentional adjustment. Here you will find an article about this topic.

But what if you want to alternate between two or three different settings? How can you save or mark the respective settings without fixing the pots? Continue reading “Tips & Tricks: Effect pedals – Mark your settings”

New pedals vs. old stompboxes from the edge of the locker

While you are searching for the perfect sound, you browse through forums, read special magazines and follow the manufacturers on Twitter and Instagram. After countless reviews and endless time of waiting after the NAMM product announcement, you can finally try out a new pedal. Just to find out that you’ll have to keep on searching… Continue reading “New pedals vs. old stompboxes from the edge of the locker”

Effect pedals interacting with the whole setup

Ask the DudeOne loves the Tubescreamer, the other hates it. It is impossible to keep everyone happy. While to one guitarist the overdrive pedal sounds perfect, stresses the mids in an optimal way and creates the ultimate range of distortion, the same pedal seems hollow with the bass cut quite too much to another guitar player. Continue reading “Effect pedals interacting with the whole setup”

+++ NAMM 2019 News Part 4+++

NewsThe rumor mill is churning….
Here I would like to present the last part of a collection of some interesting NAMM Show news. Continue reading “+++ NAMM 2019 News Part 4+++”

+++ NAMM 2019 News Part 3+++

NewsThe rumor mill is churning….
Here I would like to present a collection of some interesting NAMM Show news. Continue reading “+++ NAMM 2019 News Part 3+++”

Big Pedalboard – All pedals midi sync

This is a video about how to use a huge pedalboard with all pedals midi sync. Besides the standard TRS cable I am using my self-designed DelayDude Midi Sync Cable. Check it out here.

The three controller pedals to control the DigiTech SDRUM, the Source Audio Nemesis and the DigiTech JamMan are also available in the DelayDude shop.

gear: Fender Jazzmaster with P90, Strymon Big Sky cab simulation direct into the soundcard rack preamp of the recording PC, Cubase.

Synthesizer – more than 80s sounds

moog-minitaur„Synthesizer“ – this word and everything associated with it give shivers of horror to many guitarists and bass players. Instantly, the horrible sounds of the 80s come to one’s mind and the keyboarders actually have never been the popular members of a band. Continue reading “Synthesizer – more than 80s sounds”

Analog delay sound

Analog delay pedals are not all equal. By now, there are so many different pedals that you cannot speak of THE analog delay sound anymore. Continue reading “Analog delay sound”

How to combine effect pedals – not every combination works fine

Ask the DudeSome combinations of effect pedals are awkward – similar to human relationships: some won’t get along well with one another. Continue reading “How to combine effect pedals – not every combination works fine”

Multi Overdrive Part 3

In the first part of this article, I dedicated myself to multi overdrive pedals in general.
In the second part I introduced some interesting analog multi overdrive pedals.
And in this last part I would like to present some digital multi pedals. Continue reading “Multi Overdrive Part 3”

Multi Overdrive Part 1

In the first part of this article, I would like to engage with multi overdrive pedals in general.
In the second and third part I would like to introduce some interesting analog multi overdrive pedals in detail. And the third part will be dedicated to digital multi overdrive pedals. Continue reading “Multi Overdrive Part 1”

Review: Royal TS II Overdrive

The Royal TS II is an amp-like overdrive pedal that is handmade in Germany.
It is perfect for British sounds and definitely more than a simple clone of the Ibanez Tubescreamer. Continue reading “Review: Royal TS II Overdrive”

An overdrive pedal after a delay

Tips & tricksCommonly, you arrange the pedals in a way that the guitar signal first passes the overdrive pedal and is then send to modulation effects like delays or reverb pedals.
But in my honest opinion, it is worth it to change this accustomed layout. Continue reading “An overdrive pedal after a delay”

Unterschätzte Effektpedale

Tips & tricksEs gibt immer wieder Effektpedale, die den kritischen Anforderungen vieler Gitarristen nicht genügen. Dabei sind es oft Anwendungsfehler bzw. andere Erwartungen, die in meinen Augen zu einer geringen Beliebtheit eines Effektgeräts führen. Hier möchte ich ein paar Beispiele vorstellen. „Unterschätzte Effektpedale“ weiterlesen

15 Jahre Timmy V3 Anniversary Overdrive Pedal

TimmyPaul Cochrane ist in der Effektpedal Welt kein Unbekannter: Er ist der Erfinder des „transparenten Overdrives“. Zuerst stellte er den Tim her, der später in der kompakteren Version des Timmy nun schon seit 15 Jahren existiert und zahlreich geklont wurde. „15 Jahre Timmy V3 Anniversary Overdrive Pedal“ weiterlesen

Tips & Tricks: MXR Carbon Copy Deluxe

Tips & tricksIch habe schon oft gelesen, dass einige Gitarristen mit dem Mix Poti des MXR Carbon Copy Deluxe nicht klarkommen.
Es stimmt: Man muss das Poti voll aufdrehen, um ein Delay Signal zu erhalten, dass etwas lauter als das gespielte Gitarrensignal ist. „Tips & Tricks: MXR Carbon Copy Deluxe“ weiterlesen

Delay Pedale für den Bass?

Frag den DudeDelays sind eine großartige Erfindung und jeder Gitarrist sollte mindestens eins besitzen. Aber nicht nur Gitarristen können von den Effekten eines Delays profitieren. Auch Bassisten können sich durchaus mal in neue Gefilde vorwagen. Hierbei gibt es jedoch etwas zu beachten. „Delay Pedale für den Bass?“ weiterlesen

Tips & Tricks: Effektgeräte – Settings markieren

Tips & tricksHat man bei einem Effektgerät seine perfekte Einstellung gefunden, möchte man sie irgendwie festhalten und gegen unabsichtliches Verstellen sichern. Hierfür gibt es verschiedene Möglichkeiten, um die Poti-Stellung festzustellen. Mehr darüber kannst du in meinem entsprechenden Artikel hier nachlesen. „Tips & Tricks: Effektgeräte – Settings markieren“ weiterlesen

Neue Pedale vs. Altes aus der hinteren Schrankecke

Auf der Suche nach dem perfekten Sound durchstöbert man Foren, liest Fachmagazine und folgt Herstellern auf Twitter und Intragram. Nach unzähligen Testberichten und endlos langen Wartezeiten, die auf die Produktankündigung auf der NAMM folgen, kann man dann endlich ein neues Pedal ausprobieren, um anschließend wieder weiterzusuchen… „Neue Pedale vs. Altes aus der hinteren Schrankecke“ weiterlesen

Effektpedale im Zusammenspiel mit dem gesamten Setup

Frag den DudeDie einen lieben den Tubescreamer, die anderen hassen ihn. Man kann es nicht jedem recht machen. Während für die einen der Verzerrer genau die gewünschte Anhebung der Mitten und den richtigen Grad der Verzerrung erzeugt, klingt er für den anderen zu „topfig“ und die Bässe scheinen zu sehr beschnitten. „Effektpedale im Zusammenspiel mit dem gesamten Setup“ weiterlesen

+++ NAMM 2019 News Part 4+++

NewsUnd die Gerüchteküche brodelt weiter…
Hier habe ich noch ein letztes mal einige weitere spannende Infos zur kommenden NAMM Show gesammelt. „+++ NAMM 2019 News Part 4+++“ weiterlesen

+++ NAMM 2019 News Part 3+++

NewsUnd die Gerüchteküche brodelt weiter…
Hier habe ich noch mal einige weitere spannende Infos zur kommenden NAMM Show gesammelt. „+++ NAMM 2019 News Part 3+++“ weiterlesen

Big Pedalboard – Alle Pedale Midi Sync

Dies ist ein Video darüber, wie man ein großes Pedalboard via Midi synchronisieren kann. Neben den Standard TRS Kabeln nutze ich mein selbst-designtes DelayDude Midi Sync Cable. Das Kabel bekommst du exklusiv nur hier im Shop.

Die drei Kontroller mit denen der DigiTech SDRUM, das Source Audio Nemesis und der DigiTech JamMan gesteuert werden, sind ebenfalls hier im Shop erhältlich.

gear: Fender Jazzmaster with P90, Strymon Big Sky cab simulation direct into the soundcard rack preamp of the recording PC, Cubase.

Synthesizer – mehr als 80er Jahre Sounds

moog-minitaurWenn das Wort Synthesizer fällt, stellen sich bei vielen Gitarristen und Bassisten die Nackenhaare auf. Man assoziiert mit ihnen grauenhafte 80er Sounds und Keyboarder waren in Bands irgendwie noch nie beliebt. „Synthesizer – mehr als 80er Jahre Sounds“ weiterlesen

Analog Delay Sound

Analog Delay ist nicht gleich Analog Delay. Es gibt mittlerweile so viele unterschiedliche Pedale, dass man gar nicht mehr von DEM Analog-Delay-Sound sprechen kann. „Analog Delay Sound“ weiterlesen

Effektgeräte kombinieren: nicht jedes funktioniert mit jedem

Frag den DudeBei Effektgeräten ist manche Kombination heikel – es ist wie bei den Menschen: Nicht jeder kann mit jedem. „Effektgeräte kombinieren: nicht jedes funktioniert mit jedem“ weiterlesen

Multi Overdrive Teil 3

Im ersten Teil dieses Artikels habe ich mich Multi-Verzerrer Pedalen im Allgemeinen gewidmet.
Im zweiten Teil habe ich einige, sehr interessante analoge Multi-Verzerrer Pedale im Detail vorgestellt.
Und nun befasse ich mich noch mit digitalen Multi-Pedalen. „Multi Overdrive Teil 3“ weiterlesen

Multi Overdrive Teil 1

Im ersten Teil dieses Artikels möchte ich mich Multi-Verzerrer Pedalen im Allgemeinen widmen.
Im zweiten und dritten Teil werde ich dann einige, sehr interessante Multi-Verzerrer Pedale im Detail vorstellen. „Multi Overdrive Teil 1“ weiterlesen