Review: Wampler Faux Tape Echo

Wampler Faux Tape EchoAlready, there are 3 versions of the Wampler Faux Tape Echo with the purple sparkling enclosure.
While the third version allows to adjust the subdivisions, the version 1.2, that will be presented in this review, provides the possibility to deactivate the modulation.
The first version came along without tap tempo, but it offered modulation with envelope – thus, the intensity has been controlled via the string attack. Continue reading “Review: Wampler Faux Tape Echo”

DigiTech DigiDelay

DigidelayThe DigiTech DigiDelay is a pedalboard-friendly digital delay that provides several features in an optically not really attractive enclose. Besides tap tempo and modulation, the 9V stereo pedal offers a maximum delay time of 4 seconds. Continue reading “DigiTech DigiDelay”

Earthquaker Devices Dispatch Master

Dispatch-MasterFor all the guitarists who did not get the limited Ghost Disaster of 2010, the Earthquaker Devices Dispatch Master is a worthy and pedalboard-friendly replacement. Continue reading “Earthquaker Devices Dispatch Master”

Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport SR

Disaster Transport SRWith the Disaster Transport SR Advanced Modulated Delay & Reverb Machine the guy of Earthquaker Devices went a great step further. They combined the Disaster Transport Jr with the Ghost Disaster, a digital delay that has been in stock for a short time around 2010. Continue reading “Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport SR”

Review: Strymon Volante part 1

Strymon VolanteSince the El Capistan, Strymon is famous for their tape sounds and the Volante offers wow and flutter, tape speeds and tape saturation of the highest quality.
The studio mode provides quasi the hi-fi version of a tape sound. Continue reading “Review: Strymon Volante part 1”

Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport / Disaster Transport Jr.

disaster transport Stricktly speaking the Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport covers a whole series of digital delays that are all dedicated to lo-fi sounds. Continue reading “Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport / Disaster Transport Jr.”

Review: Strymon Volante part 1

Strymon VolanteThe Italian as well as the Spanish word “Volante“ means wheel or travelling/flying.
I think, it refers to the magnetic disc of a Binson Echorec, for the Strymon Volante emulates its sounds (as well as further tape echo sounds) in a very special way. Continue reading “Review: Strymon Volante part 1”

Earthquaker Devices Avalanche Run

Avalanche RunThe Earthquaker Devices Avalanche Run is a moderate pedalboard-friendly digital delay, that, in fact is rather a mixture of a delay and a reverb effect. Continue reading “Earthquaker Devices Avalanche Run”

Review: Walrus Audio ARP-87

ARP-87ARP-87 – a pair of interacting galaxies, affecting each other by gravitative interaction and the exchange of gas and dust.
Let`s have a look, if the Walrus Audio ARP-87 boasts likewise characteristics like its eponym. Continue reading “Review: Walrus Audio ARP-87”

Dunlop Echoplex EP 103

Dunlop EchoplexThe Dunlop Echoplex EP 103 is a pedalboard-friendly digital delay. By connecting the external tap footswitch, the 750 ms of maximum delay time can be extended up to 4 seconds. Continue reading “Dunlop Echoplex EP 103”

Review: Crazy Tube Circuits – Echotopia

EchotopiaToday I’m going to test a very nice pedal: The Crazy Tube Circuits Echotopia.
The play of words with echo (resonance) and utopia (wishful thinking/illusion) describes the pedal quite well. The guys from Crazy Tube Circuits categorize the sound of the Echotopia as a retro tape echo for soundscapes. Continue reading “Review: Crazy Tube Circuits – Echotopia”

DOD Rubberneck

DOD RubberneckThe DOD Rubberneck is a moderate pedalboard-friendly but really nice sounding analog delay. The trails mode allows to make the repeats of the 1500 ms maximum delay time fade out marvelously. Continue reading “DOD Rubberneck”

DMB Pedals Lunar

LunarThe DMB Pedals Lunar is a moderate pedalboard-friendly analog delay with a design that is in colour pretty uncommon. Continue reading “DMB Pedals Lunar”

Eventide Rose Delay with a synthesizer (Superbooth 2019)

This is a demo of how to use the Eventide Rose Delay with a synthesizer.

Special thanks to Collin Bevan from Eventide who answered to my questions at the SUPERBOOTH 2019.

Diamond Memory Lane

memory laneThe Diamond Memory Lane is a less pedalboard-friendly analog delay. Compared to other analog delay pedals, the maximum delay time of 550 ms is quite ordinary. But because of the Panasonic MN3005 chip, the sound of this 24 V mono pedal is legendary. Continue reading “Diamond Memory Lane”

Testbericht: Wampler Faux Tape Echo

Wampler Faux Tape EchoDas Wampler Faux Tape Echo in seinem lila glitzernden Gehäuse gibt es bereits in der 3. Version. Während bei der dritten Version die Subdivisions einstellbar sind, kann man bei der hier vorgestellten Version 1.2 die Modulation deaktivieren.
Die erste Version war noch ohne Tap Tempo, aber dafür mit einer Modulation mit Envelope, deren Intensität dementsprechend durch den Anschlag der Saiten in ihrer Intensität gesteuert. „Testbericht: Wampler Faux Tape Echo“ weiterlesen

DigiTech DigiDelay

DigidelayDas DigiTech DigiDelay ist ein Pedalboard-freundliches Digital Delay, das allerhand Features in einem optisch nur mäßig ansprechenden Gehäuse mitbringt. Neben Tap Tempo und Modulation verfügt das 9V Stereo- Pedal über eine maximale Delay Zeit von 4 Sekunden. „DigiTech DigiDelay“ weiterlesen

Earthquaker Devices Dispatch Master

Dispatch-MasterFür alle, die das 2010 in limitierter Auflage erschienene Ghost Disaster nicht bekommen haben, ist der Earthquaker Devices Dispatch Master ein würdiger und Pedalboard-freundlicher Ersatz. „Earthquaker Devices Dispatch Master“ weiterlesen

Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport SR

Disaster Transport SRMit der Disaster Transport SR Advanced Modulated Delay & Reverb Machine gingen die Jungs von Earthquaker Devices dann einen ordentlichen Schritt weiter. Sie kombinierten das Disaster Transport Jr mit dem Ghost Disaster, welches um 2010 nur für kurze Zeit hergestellt wurde. „Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport SR“ weiterlesen

Testbericht: Strymon Volante Teil 2

Strymon VolanteFür ihre Tapesounds sind Strymon seit dem El Capistan bekannt und auch hier werden Gleichlaufschwankungen, Bandgeschwindigkeiten und Bandsättigung erster Güte geboten. „Testbericht: Strymon Volante Teil 2“ weiterlesen

Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport / Disaster Transport Jr.

disaster transportDisaster Transport steht bei Earthquaker Devices für eine ganze Serie digitaler Delays, die sich alle dem Lo-Fi Sound verschrieben haben. Da sich die einzelnen Vertreter nur in einzelnen Aspekten voneinander unterscheiden, möchte ich in dieser Rubrik gerne zwei Vertreter der Serie in einem Artikel vorstellen.
„Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport / Disaster Transport Jr.“ weiterlesen

Testbericht: Strymon Volante Teil 1

Strymon VolanteDas italienische und auch spanische Wort „Volante“ steht für Rad oder fliegend/beweglich. Gemeint ist hier sicherlich die Magnetic Disc eines Binson Echorecs, denn diesen Sound (und weitere Tape Echo Sounds) emuliert das neue Delay von Strymon in einer ganz besonderen Qualität.
„Testbericht: Strymon Volante Teil 1“ weiterlesen

Earthquaker Devices Avalanche Run

Avalanche RunDas Earthquaker Devices Avalanche Run ist ein mäßig Pedalboard-freundliches digital Delay, das eigentlich vielmehr eine Mischung aus Delay und Reverb darstellt. „Earthquaker Devices Avalanche Run“ weiterlesen

Testbericht: Walrus Audio ARP-87

ARP-87ARP-87 – ein Paar Galaxien, die sich durch ihre gravitativen Interaktionen und durch den Austausch von Gas und Staub formen und beeinflussen.
Wollen wir uns mal anschauen, ob das Walrus Audio ARP-87 ähnliche Eigenschaften wie seine Namensgeber aufweisen kann. „Testbericht: Walrus Audio ARP-87“ weiterlesen

Dunlop Echoplex EP 103

Dunlop EchoplexDas Dunlop Echoplex EP 103 ist ein Pedalboard-freundliches digital Delay.
Die 750 mS maximale Delay Zeit können mit einem externen Tap Fußschalter auf sagenhafte 4 Sekunden verlängert werden. „Dunlop Echoplex EP 103“ weiterlesen

Testbericht: Crazy Tube Circuits – Echotopia

EchotopiaHeute habe ich ein besonders schönes Pedal zum Test: das Crazy Tube Circuits Echotopia. Das Wortspiel aus Echo (Widerhall/Resonanz) und Utopie (Wunschvorstellung/Illusion) beschreibt das Pedal sehr gut. Klanglich ordnen die Jungs von Crazy Tube Circuits das Echotopia als Retro Tape Echo für Soundscapes ein. „Testbericht: Crazy Tube Circuits – Echotopia“ weiterlesen

DOD Rubberneck

DOD RubberneckDas DOD Rubberneck ist ein mittelmäßig Pedalboard-freundliches aber sehr gut klingendes Analog Delay. Mit dem Trails-Modus kann man die Delays der maximalen 1500 mS maximaler Delay Zeit herrlich ausklingen lassen. „DOD Rubberneck“ weiterlesen

DMB Pedals Lunar

LunarDas DMB Pedals Lunar ist ein mittelmäßig Pedalboard-freundliches Analog Delay mit einem farblich doch recht ungewöhnlichem Design. „DMB Pedals Lunar“ weiterlesen

Eventide Rose Delay mit Synthesizer (Superbooth 2019)

Dies ist eine Demo des Eventide Rose Delays mit einem Synthesizer auf der Superbooth 2019 in Berlin.

Vielen Dank an Collin Bevan von Eventide.

Diamond Memory Lane

memory laneDas Diamond Memory Lane ist ein eher mäßig Pedalboard-freundliches Analog Delay.
Mit seinen 550 mS maximaler Delay-Zeit liefert das 24 V Mono- Pedal ohne Batterie-Anschluss im Vergleich zu vielen anderen nur eine durchschnittliche Delay-Zeit, die klingt jedoch aufgrund des legendären MN3005 Chips von Panasonic ganz wunderbar. „Diamond Memory Lane“ weiterlesen