Review: Boss DD-8 part I

Boss DD8The Boss DD-8 is the most recent compact Boss delay and the direct successor of the DD-7.
In this two- part review, I will first present facts about the construction and the standard sounds of the Boss DD-8, before, in the second part, I will dedicate myself to the special modes of this compact digital delay.

Besides a looper, the Boss DD-8 provides 11 delay modes, their delays can be adjusted via the common pots for E.level, feedback and time.

The robust enclosure has two mono inputs and two mono outputs, which are able to send a ping pong delay. A wet/dry setting is possible as well. A tempo/EXP jack serves as input for one or two external switches or an expression pedal. Therefore, level, feedback and delay time can be controlled via the expression pedal.
The external switches allow to tap the tempo or to activate the twist function. This function means the acceleration of the delay time and many Boss DD-20 users will already know it.
At the front, you will find the 9V power supply jack and a small switch to turn the trails on or off. In addition, the footswitch also offers enough space to connect a 9V battery. The delay needs 65mA.
The pedal is buffered, but it offers an analog dry thru.
Keeping the footswitch pressed, it can be used as tap tempo.
Moreover, the subdivisions can be adjusted globally. The manual offers a respective instruction on page 10.
The Boss DD-8 hay a maximum delay time of 800ms or rather 500ms in the reverse mode. And by using the A input in combination with the B output (instead of the A input with the A output), the maximum delay time can be doubled up to 1600ms respectively 1000ms.
And the looper offers a maximum recording time of 40 seconds mono / 20 seconds stereo.

Sounds

Besides the delay types we already know from the Boss DD-7 (standard, analog, reverse), the DD-8 also offers new modes like tape glitch and RV. But the well-known delay types as well got a different voicing.

Standard

The standard setting creates a nice clear digital delay like how it is known from the Boss delays. It has this unique smacking attack and by using the mix pot, you can adjust it even louder than the original signal.

Analog

The DD-7 as well provides an analog sound. Regarding the DD-8 it has been improved and is now sonically a bit brighter. Therefore, you will rather reach clearer analog delay soundscapes in the background.

Tape

Something new is the tape setting and I really like it. It has a percussive character and is absolutely suitable for rhythmic playing.

Warm

Warm is another new mode of the DD-8. Actually, it is a standard digital delay which is a bit less brilliant and therefore fits perfect into the mix. At the same time, it is less suitable for rhythmical repeats in the style of The Edge. One could say, it sounds some kind of modern.

Reverse

Reverse is a classic which can also be found in the repertoire of the DD-8. This mode provides up to 10 seconds of reverse orgies. This extensive delay time is perfect for soundscaping.

Testbericht: BOSS DD-8 Teil I

Boss DD8Das Boss DD-8 ist das aktuellste Kompakt- Delay von Boss und direkter Nachfolger des DD-7.
In diesem zweiteiligen Testbericht werde ich mich zunächst der Konstruktion und den Standard-Sounds des Boss DD-8 widmen, bevor ich im zweiten Teil die besonderen Modi dieses kompakten digital Delays vorstelle.

Neben einem Looper verfügt das Boss DD-8 nämlich über insgesamt 11 Delay-Modi, deren Delays über die üblichen E.Level, Feedback und Time Regler eingestellt werden können.

Das robuste Boss Gehäuse hat zwei Mono Eingänge und zwei Mono Ausgänge, die das Signal als Ping Pong Delay ausgeben können. Und auch ein Wet/Dry Setting ist einstellbar. Eine Tempo/EXP Buchse dient zum Anschluss von einem oder zwei externen Tastern oder einem Expression Pedal. Auf diese Weise kann das Expressionpedal Level, Feedback und Delayzeit regeln.

Mit den externen Tastern kann das Tempo getappt werden oder die Twist Funktion aktiviert werden. Diese Funktion ist ein Beschleunigen der Delayzeit und dürfte vielen Boss DD-20 Nutzern schon bekannt sein.
An der Stirnseite befindet sich der 9V Netzteilanschluss und ein kleiner Schalter, mit dem die Trails an- und ausgeschaltet werden können. Darüber hinaus befindet sich im Fußschalter Platz für den Anschluss einer 9V Blockbatterie. Das Delay verbraucht 65mA.

Das Pedal ist gebuffert, hat aber einen analog dry thru.
Hält man den Fußtaster gedrückt, so dient er dem Tap Tempo.
Außerdem können die Sub Divisions global eingestellt werden, eine Anleitung hierfür findet man im Manual auf Seite 10.

Das DD-8 hat eine maximale Delayzeit von 800ms bzw. 500ms im Reverse Mode. Nutzt man, statt den A Ein-und Ausgängen den A Eingang und den B Ausgang, so verdoppelt sich die maximale Delayzeit auf 1600ms bzw. 1000ms. Und der Looper schafft eine maximale Aufnahmezeit von 40 Sekunden Mono/ 20 Sekunden Stereo.

Sounds

Neben den vom Boss DD-7 bekannten Delaytypen (wie Standard, Analog, Reverse) sind auch neue Modi (Tape, Glitch, RV) vorhanden. Aber auch die bekannten Delaytypen haben im DD-8 ein geändertes Voicing bekommen.

Standard

Das Standard Setting erzeugt ein schön klares Digital Delay, wie man es von Boss Delays kennt. Es hat diesen unverkennbaren, schmatzenden Attack und kann mit dem Mix Regler auch lauter als das originale Signal geregelt werden.

Analog

Einen Analog Sound hatte bereits das DD-7. Dieser wurde im DD-8 jedoch überarbeitet und wurde jetzt klanglich etwas heller abgestimmt. Damit gelangt man eher in perkussive, klarere Analog Delay Gefilde, die sehr gut im Hintergrund sitzen.

Tape

Neu ist das Tape Setting und das gefällt mir sehr gut. Es hat einen perkussiven Charakter und eignet sich sehr gut für rhythmisches Spielen.

Warm

Ebenfalls ergänzt wurde der Warm Mode. Es ist im Grunde ein etwas weniger brillantes Standard digital Delay, das etwas besser im Mix sitzt. Gleichzeitig ist es aber weniger für rhythmische Repeats im Style von The Edge gedacht. Man könnte den Klang auch als moderner bezeichnen.

Reverse

Der Klassiker Reverse darf natürlich auch beim DD-8 nicht fehlen und erzeugt nun bis zu 10 Sekunden lange Reverse Orgien. Diese lange Delayzeit ist perfekt für Soundscaping und dezente Klangteppiche.