Review: Wampler Faux Tape Echo

Wampler Faux Tape EchoAlready, there are 3 versions of the Wampler Faux Tape Echo with the purple sparkling enclosure.
While the third version allows to adjust the subdivisions, the version 1.2, that will be presented in this review, provides the possibility to deactivate the modulation.
The first version came along without tap tempo, but it offered modulation with envelope – thus, the intensity has been controlled via the string attack.

Construction

The Faux Tape Echo comes along in a beautiful lacquered and stable aluminum enclosure in the size of a BB Hammond enclosure. For the enclosure is constructed a bit higher than usually, the foot switches for true bypass and tap tempo can still be activated easily even if you place the pedal on the second row of your pedalboard.
Besides the familiar knobs for level, echo, and repeats, the Faux Tape Echo also offers the shade tone pot. The speed and the intensity of the modulation can be deactivated by toggle switch and adjusted via movement and sway.
Of course, you can deactivate the modulation by turning the depth of the modulation to full counterclockwise direction, but by using the toggle switch, you will not have to alter your favorite setting options.
On the front of the pedal you will find the 9V power supply input. In and out can be found on the left/right side of the pedal.

Sound

The delay with a maximum delay time of 600ms captures the character of a tape echo in a very nice way.
With the shade pot set to 12 o’clock and a delay signal that is a bit louder than the original signal, the delays float from the speakers in the best manner of a tape delay.
By slightly turning the shade pot to a counterclockwise direction, the signal becomes darker while it stays clear and defined.
Maxed, the shade pot offers the sound of a new inserted tape with percussive and organic attacks. The signal murmurs slightly and there is a slight distortion in the repeats – all this belongs to the sonic character of a tape delay and therefore has been emulated in very sophisticated way.

Modulation

One thing, that is really special about this pedal is the modulation. It is possible to adjust the modulation in a very fine way and even set to an extreme, it never starts to drone. It really feels as if you are using a tape delay with an old, worn-out and dirty tape. By using the shade pot to adjust the desired sonic character, you will get inspiring sounds for weeks!

Conclusion

The Wampler Faux Tape Echo captivates by its functional simplicity, its compact construction and the authentic tape sound – including a fantastic modulation.
The delay fits perfect into the mix and can be adjusted via the shade pot in a sophisticated way.

Category: Tape echo emulation

Valuation: A dirty, drifting echo dream

Testbericht: Wampler Faux Tape Echo

Wampler Faux Tape EchoDas Wampler Faux Tape Echo in seinem lila glitzernden Gehäuse gibt es bereits in der 3. Version. Während bei der dritten Version die Subdivisions einstellbar sind, kann man bei der hier vorgestellten Version 1.2 die Modulation deaktivieren.
Die erste Version war noch ohne Tap Tempo, aber dafür mit einer Modulation mit Envelope, deren Intensität dementsprechend durch den Anschlag der Saiten in ihrer Intensität gesteuert.

Konstruktion

Das Faux Tape Echo kommt in einem wunderschön lackierten, stabilem Aluminium Gehäuse von der Größe eines Hammond BB Gehäuses. Da das Gehäuse etwas höher ist, erreicht man die Fußtaster für den True Bypass und das Tap Tempo auch sehr gut, wenn das Pedal auf dem Board in der zweiten Reihe steht.
Neben den üblichen Reglern für Level, Echo (Delayzeit) und Repeats verfügt das Pedal noch über den Shade Tone Regler. Die Geschwindigkeit und Intensität der Modulation können über Movement und Sway justiert und die Modulation per Kippschalter deaktiviert werden. Ein Deaktivieren der Modulation ist zwar auch möglich, indem man die Modulationstiefe ganz zudreht, aber aufgrund des Schalters kann die Lieblingseinstellung beibehalten werden und die Modulation einfach dazugeschaltet werden.
An der Stirnseite befindet sich die 9V Netzteilbuchse. Die Klinken Ein-/Ausgänge findest du links und rechts.

Sound

Das Delay mit einer maximalen Delayzeit von 600mS fängt den Charakter eines Bandechos wirklich sehr gut ein.
Mit dem Shade Regler auf 12 Uhr und einem etwas lauteren Delay Signal als das original Signal, schweben die Delays in bester Tape Manier aus den Speakern.
Dreht man den Shade Regler weiter nach links, so wird das Signal dunkler, bleibt aber klar und definiert.
Ganz aufgedreht erhält man den Klang eines neu eingelegten Tonbands mit perkussiven, organischen Anschlägen. Das Signal rauscht etwas und die Repeats haben eine leichte Verzerrung – das alles gehört zum Klangbild eines Tape Delays und wurde hier sehr schön reproduziert.

Modulation

Die Modulation ist bei diesem Pedal besonders zu loben. Sie lässt sich über den gesamten Regelweg sehr gut einstellen und fängt auch in Extremstellungen nie an zu leiern. Es fühlt sich wirklich an, als würde man ein Bandecho mit altem, verschmutztem Band spielen. Wenn man nun mit dem Shade Regler den gewünschten Klangcharakter einstellt hat man inspirierende Sounds für Wochen!

Fazit

Das Wampler Faux Tape Echo besticht durch seine funktionelle Einfachheit, kompakte Bauweise und seinen authentischen Tape Sound – inkl. fantastischer Modulation.
Das Delay sitzt sehr gut im Mix und kann mit dem Shade Regler perfekt feinjustiert werden.

Kategorie: Tape Echo Emulation

Bewertung: Ein schmutziger, wabernder Echo Traum