Ambient pedalboard setup

Ask the DudeSeveral times, people asked me, how to assemble the perfect ambient pedalboard.
For this reason, I would like to sketch my very personal design of my pedalboard for ambient and soundscaping sounds in this article.

Compressor

My signal chain starts with a compressor that falsifies the signal as less as possible. Regarding an ambient pedalboard, a compressor definitively makes sense, for you will need a long-lasting signal to create soundscapes.
I would recommend for example the Origin Effects Cali76 Compact Deluxe because it works sonically almost neutral. But the Diamond CPR1 Compressor, as well as the compact Xotic SP produce very nice results. You can add the uncompressed signal, to get enough string attack. Depending on the chosen compressor type, you can emphasize different aspects of your guitar sound.

Sustainer

Sustain pedals are the perfect tool for ambient pedalboards. I would place a sustain pedal like the Gamechanger Audio Plus Pedal, the EHX Freeze or the Superego (EHX as well) directly behind the compressor. The signal, strengthened by the compressor makes sustain pedals work even better. Placing the sustain pedals at this place in the effect chain also allows to add several other effects to the sustained signal.

Harmonizer and octaver

The next pedal in my chain would be a harmonizer and an octaver. Especially the Electro Harmonix POG2 is almost THE standard for ambient pedalboards. By using it, you can create marvelous organ sounds, swell sounds and octaved tones. For those, who like to save some space on the pedalboard, the Micro POG as well as the TC Electronics Sub’N’ Up are pretty recommendable.

Gain pedals

Ideally, you place gain pedals behind the harmonizer and octave pedal. Using two gain pedals with a different kind of distortion, makes sense, for you will get a third kind of sound by combining both. You can, for example use a booster and an overdrive pedal to create a boosted sound, an overdriven sound or a more distorted signal by combining both pedals. Mostly, the combination of booster and overdrive is sufficient, to create also distortion sounds.

Volume pedal

Behind the gain pedals, I place a volume pedal. If you place the volume pedal before the gain pedals, it will affect the degree of distortion. Behind the gain pedals, the volume pedals work more like the master volume of an overdriven amp and therefore, only controls the volume of the (overdriven) signal. Thus, you can utilize volume swells, which are really important for ambient sounds, with clean sounds as well as with overdriven signals in an optimal way.

One trick ponies

Every ambient pedalboard needs a crazy sound or a pedal that is able to create unexpected soundscapes. The Montreal Assembly Count to 5 is pretty famous for such actions. But the Cooper FX Generation Loss and the Hologram Electronics Infinite Jets are also able to vary the guitar signal in an interesting and surprising way.

Delays and reverb

The fundament of every ambient pedalboard are delays and reverb pedals. Also stacked with pleasure. Therefore, it does no harm to place two or three of these pedals on your board. Thus, you can, for example, combine an analog delay with modulation for a blurred sound with a tape emulation. Everything garnished with a bit reverb and the perfect ambient sound will float to your ears. I would like to recommend the Empress Echosystem for the perfect ambient pedalboard. It is able to create sounds for the classic delay to reverse and pitch delays – means: everything, ambient pedalboard users dream of.

Looper

The best place for a looper is at the end of the signal chain, which, from the delay pedals on, loves to become stereo. By combining several layers, you can record soundscapes and add further guitar melodies later. If your looper also provides several storage places, you can save whole setlists and use them whenever you like.

Last but not least

For a pedalboard like this, you will definitively need a good power supply and wiring to avoid besides noise. To me, a loop switcher does not really make sense here. For you will mostly combine several pedals and the transitions within the song will be rather smooth, there will be no need for a multiple switching at the same time. By adding and removing individual effect pedals you can create slow transitions and make the song grow.

And, of course, it does no harm to synchronize the delay pedals with the looper. But this will be the topic of another article…

Ambient Pedalboard Setup

Frag den DudeMehrfach erreichte mich die Anfrage, wie man am besten ein Ambient Pedalboard zusammenstellen kann. Aus diesem Grund möchte ich in diesem Artikel skizzieren, wie ich persönlich ein Pedalboard für Ambient- und Soundscaping- Sounds zusammenstellen würde.

Kompressor

Meine Signalkette beginnt mit einem Kompressor, der das Signal möglichst wenig verfälscht. Ein Kompressor macht bei einem Ambient Pedalboard Sinn, weil man für viele flächige Sounds ein lang klingendes Signal benötigt.
Hierfür eignet sich der Origin Effects Cali76 Compact Deluxe sehr gut, da er klangneutral arbeitet. Aber auch der Diamond CPR1 Kompressor oder ein kompakter Xotic SP liefern hier hervorragende Ergebnisse. Das unkomprimierte Signal kann dazu gemischt werden, um so ausreichend Attack des Saitenanschlags zu erhalten. Je nach Wahl des Kompressor-Typs kann man bestimmte Eigenschaften der Gitarre hervorheben.

Sustainer

Sustainpedals sind für Ambient- Sounds ein perfektes Werkzeugt. Ich würde das Sutainpedal, wie zum Beispiel das Gamechanger Audio Plus Pedal, das EHX Freeze oder das Superego (ebenfalls EHX) direkt nach dem Kompressor in die Signalkette einfügen. So erhalten sie ein, durch den Kompressor, gestärktes Signal und können besser arbeiten. Eine Platzierung des Sustainers an dieser Stelle ermöglicht es, das gehaltene Signal später mit weiteren Effekten zu bearbeiten.

Harmonizer und Oktaver

Als nächstes würde ich Harmonizer und Oktaver platzieren. Gerade der POG 2 von Electro Harmonix ist quasi der Standard für ein Ambient Pedalboard. Hiermit lassen sich von Orgelsounds, über Swell-Sounds bis zu oktavierten Klängen alle möglichen, verfremdeten Sounds erzeugen. Wer etwas Platz sparen möchte, kann natürlich auch den Micro POG oder ein TC Electronics Sub´n´up verwenden.

Gainstufen

Idealerweise folgen nun die Verzerrer. Hier empfiehlt es sich zwei Gainpedale mit unterschiedlicher Verzerrung zu verwenden, da durch die Kombination beider Pedale eine dritte Soundvariante zur Verfügung steht. So kann man zum Beispiel einen Booster vor einem Overdrive verwenden, um ein geboostetes Signal, einen Overdrive Sound oder ein stärker verzerrtes Signal (Booster und Overdrive kombiniert) zu erhalten. Oft reicht die Kombination von Booster und Overdrive schon aus, um auch Distortion-Sounds zu erzeugen.

Volume Pedal

Nach den Gain Pedalen kann ein Volumepedal in die Kette integriert werden. Wird das Volume Pedal vor den Verzerrern genutzt, so beeinflusst es den Grad der Verzerrung. Hinter den Verzerrern verhält es sich eher wie das Mastervolume eines verzerrten Amps und regelt lediglich die Lautstärke des (verzerrten) Signals. Volume Swells, die für Ambient Sounds sehr wichtig sind, können so mit cleanen als auch mit verzerrten Signalen optimal eingesetzt werden.

One Trick Ponys

Jedes Ambient Pedalboard braucht einen abgefahrenen Sound oder ein Effektgerät, das unerwartete Flächen und Sounds erzeugen kann. Sehr beliebt ist hier das Montreal Assembly Count to 5. Aber auch das Cooper FX Generation Loss oder das Hologram Electronics Infinite Jets kann auf spannende Art und Weise Gitarrensignal bearbeiten.

Delays und Reverb

Die Grundlage eines Ambient-Sounds sind Delays und Reverbs. Diese können auch gerne gestackt werden. Also schadet es nicht, zwei oder gar drei dieser Pedale auf dem Board zu haben. So könnte zum Beispiel ein analoges Delay mit Modulation für einen verwaschenen Sound mit einer Tape Emulation kombiniert werden. Das Ganze mit etwas Hall garniert und fertig ist der Ambient-Sound. Ich kann das Empress Echosystem sehr empfehlen, da es von klassischen Delays bis zu Reverse / Pitch Delays alles erzeugt, was man sich ein Ambient-Board erträumen kann.

Looper

Am Ende der Signalkette, die übrigens ab den Delays auch gerne Stereo sein darf, bietet sich ein Looper an. Durch das Kombinieren mehrerer Layer kann man auf diese Weise Klangteppiche aufnehmen und weitere Gitarrenmelodien hinzufügen. Wenn der Looper mehrere Speicherplätze hat, können so ganze Setlists gespeichert und abgerufen werden.

Und sonst noch?

Für das Board benötigt man definitiv eine gute Stromversorgung und Verkabelung, um Nebengeräusche zu minimieren. Ein Loopswitcher ist meiner Meinung nach für ein Ambient Pedalboard weniger sinnvoll, da ohnehin meist mehrere Pedale kombiniert werden und die Übergänge im Song nicht so abrupt sind, als dass man mehrere Pedale auf einmal schalten müsste. Durch das Hinzufügen und Wegnehmen einzelner Effektpedale kann man so langsame Übergänge erzeugen und den Song entstehen lassen.

Und natürlich kann es nicht schaden, die Delays und den Looper per Midi zu synchronisieren.
Aber darüber schreibe ich in einem anderen Artikel…