Ask the Dude: Is there a pedal sounding like the Binson Echorec?

Ask the DudeRecently, I found the following request in my mailbox:

I think, I actually would need a Binson Echorec, but they are in fact beyond price. I love the flutter echo mash, that the Echorec is able to create.
In the meantime, I think, that an analog delay is able to produce every sound, I long for. Digital delays with analog emulation do not sound that nice to me. But at the same time, I don’t want to get into dept.
Could you tell me, if the Ibanez Echo Shifter might be a suitable pedal for me? Especially in contrast to the Ibanez analog delay, AD9, mini or even the EHX Memory Toy?
I have already tried to many sappy pedals. Right now, I do (still!) use the Hardwire DL8. But in my opinion, it is too cold and inorganic.” Continue reading “Ask the Dude: Is there a pedal sounding like the Binson Echorec?”

Review: Crazy Tube Circuits – Echotopia

EchotopiaToday I’m going to test a very nice pedal: The Crazy Tube Circuits Echotopia.
The play of words with echo (resonance) and utopia (wishful thinking/illusion) describes the pedal quite well. The guys from Crazy Tube Circuits categorize the sound of the Echotopia as a retro tape echo for soundscapes. Continue reading “Review: Crazy Tube Circuits – Echotopia”

Frag den Dude: Gibt es ein Pedal das klingt wie das Binson Echorec?

Frag den DudeVor kurzem ging folgende Anfrage bei mir ein:

„Im Prinzip bräuchte in einen Binson Echorec, aber die Dinger sind unbezahlbar. Ich liebe diesen flutter Echo Matsch, den man hinbekommen kann.
Mittlerweile bin ich der Meinung, dass ein analog Delay, alles hinbekommt was ich mir vorstelle. Digitale Delays, die analoge Einstellungen haben, klingen leider nicht gut genug. Aber mich übermäßig verschulden will ich auch nicht.
Könntest Du mir in etwa sagen, ob der Ibanez Echo Shifter interessant wäre? Vor allem im Gegensatz zum Ibanez analog Delay, AD9, Mini, oder gar zum EHX Memory toy.
Hab schon zu viele dämliche ausprobiert. Zur Zeit spiele ich, noch!, den Hardwire DL8. Aber leider zu kalt und unorganisch meiner Meinung nach.“ „Frag den Dude: Gibt es ein Pedal das klingt wie das Binson Echorec?“ weiterlesen

Testbericht: Crazy Tube Circuits – Echotopia

EchotopiaHeute habe ich ein besonders schönes Pedal zum Test: das Crazy Tube Circuits Echotopia. Das Wortspiel aus Echo (Widerhall/Resonanz) und Utopie (Wunschvorstellung/Illusion) beschreibt das Pedal sehr gut. Klanglich ordnen die Jungs von Crazy Tube Circuits das Echotopia als Retro Tape Echo für Soundscapes ein. „Testbericht: Crazy Tube Circuits – Echotopia“ weiterlesen