Review: Evidence Audio – SIS Kit for patch cables

Evidence AudioThe Evidence Audio SIS Kit is a patch cable kit for pedalboards. The Kit 10 contains 10 plugs and 3 meters of cable. Thus, you can make 5 patch cables with variable lengths. SIS is the abbreviation for “Screw in solderless”. The technique has been revolutionized by the Evidence Audio construction. Continue reading “Review: Evidence Audio – SIS Kit for patch cables”

Pedalboards

PedalboardTo every guitarist, who use more than three effect pedals, it makes sense to think about how to transport and store the pedals in a rational way.
The need for a re-arrangement of the pedals before each gig or rehearsal is, on the one hand, pretty time consuming and, on the other hand, the permanent movement may cause a serious damage of cables or jacks.
But which pedalboard is the right one? Continue reading “Pedalboards”

Tips & Tricks: DIY Mini Tap Tempo Controller

Mini Tap Tempo controllerI guess almost anyone who uses one or more pedals with tap tempo on his pedalboard have thought about a device that is able to tap several pedals at the same time. Continue reading “Tips & Tricks: DIY Mini Tap Tempo Controller”

Big pedalboard vs. mini workhorse

PedalboardLately I visited a concert in a small club and there it happened again: the band started with the first song and at the same time one of the guitarists began to fiddle about his pedalboard because not a single tone of his guitar reached the boxes. Supported by his roady he was able to rectify his short-time mutism but to me this is not really the perfect concert opening. After the show the guitar tech told me that exactly the same happened the night before. Continue reading “Big pedalboard vs. mini workhorse”

Fender Jaguar Mod: serial /parallel connected pickup modification

The Johnny Marr signature Fender Jaguar offers the possibility of using both pickups serial connected. This creates a special kind of sound which cannot be produced with the standard versions of the Fender Jaguar. But these standard versions are easily modified without the need of the installation of a new switcher.
This is the Fender Jaguar modification: Continue reading “Fender Jaguar Mod: serial /parallel connected pickup modification”

Testbericht: Evidence Audio – SIS Kit für Patchkabel

Evidence AudioDas Evidence Audio SIS Kit ist ein Patchkabel Kit für Pedalboards. Das Kit 10 besteht aus 10 Steckern und 3m Kabel und reicht damit für 5 Patchkabel in individueller Länge. SIS steht für „Screw in Solderless“ und wurde von Evidence Audio in seiner Konstruktion revolutioniert. „Testbericht: Evidence Audio – SIS Kit für Patchkabel“ weiterlesen

Pedalboards

PedalboardSobald man als Gitarrist mehr als drei Effektgeräte nutzt, macht es Sinn darüber nachzudenken, wie man sie sinnvoll transportieren und verstauen kann.
Wenn man Pedale bei jeder Probe und bei jedem Auftritt neu verkabeln muss, ist dies zeitaufwändig und durch die ständige Bewegung von Kabeln und Buchsen kann es schneller zu deren Überbelastung und so letztlich zu einem Defekt kommen.
Doch welches Pedalboard soll man wählen? „Pedalboards“ weiterlesen

Tips & Tricks: DIY Mini Tap Tempo Controller

Mini Tap Tempo controllerWer auf seinem Pedalboard zwei oder mehr Pedale hat, die per Tap Tempo zu steuern sind, hat sicherlich schon einmal darüber nachgedacht, ob es ein Pedal gibt, mit dem man beide Pedale gleichzeitig tappen kann. „Tips & Tricks: DIY Mini Tap Tempo Controller“ weiterlesen

Großes Pedalboard vs. Mini Workhorse

PedalboardBei einem Konzert, dass ich neulich besucht habe, ist es wieder mal passiert: als die ersten Töne des ersten Songs erklangen, begann einer der Gitarristen verzweifelt an seinem Pedalboard herumzufummeln, denn von ihm kam kein Ton bei den Boxen an. Gemeinsam mit seinem Gitarrentechniker konnte er seinen kurzzeitigen Mutismus zwar recht schnell beheben, aber ein optimaler Konzertstart sieht anders aus. Nach dem Konzert erzählte mir der Gitarrentechniker, dass schon am Vorabend das gleiche passiert sei. „Großes Pedalboard vs. Mini Workhorse“ weiterlesen

Fender Jaguar Mod: Seriell / Parallel Pickup Modifikation – Johnny Marr

In der Signature Fender Jaguar von Johnny Marr gibt es die Möglichkeit, beide Pickups in Serie zu betreiben. Dies erzeugt eine interessante Klangvariante, die bei den Standard Modellen leider nicht verfügbar ist. Allerdings lassen diese sich sehr einfach selbst modifizieren, ohne neue Schalter einbauen zu müssen. Hier also die Fender Jaguar Modifikation: „Fender Jaguar Mod: Seriell / Parallel Pickup Modifikation – Johnny Marr“ weiterlesen