Underrated effect pedals

Tips & tricksFrequently, you will find effect pedals that do not meet the needs of many guitarists. I think, that application errors or wrong expectations mostly lead to such an underestimation of certain effect pedals. Here I would like to present some examples. Continue reading “Underrated effect pedals”

Flanger

Effect PedalAt the moment flanger pedals are rather unpopular- maybe because they have been used far too often in the 80s or maybe because of their distinctive sound.
But not all flange effects are equal and depending on the way of use a flange effect can sound quite interesting. Continue reading “Flanger”

Downsizing

PedalboardAlthough many guitarists love large pedalboards, most of them go into raptures over the sound that originates when the guitar-signal runs straight into the amplifier. The dynamic is increased and the guitar has got a higher output. Continue reading “Downsizing”

Modulation pedals

ModulationseffekteChorus

First of all, a chorus creates an exact copy of the signal. Subsequently one of these signals is, similar to a delay, reproduced delayed. But the delays of the sound are so short that they are not perceived as delays. They only last 2 up to 70 ms. Continue reading “Modulation pedals”

Unterschätzte Effektpedale

Tips & tricksEs gibt immer wieder Effektpedale, die den kritischen Anforderungen vieler Gitarristen nicht genügen. Dabei sind es oft Anwendungsfehler bzw. andere Erwartungen, die in meinen Augen zu einer geringen Beliebtheit eines Effektgeräts führen. Hier möchte ich ein paar Beispiele vorstellen. „Unterschätzte Effektpedale“ weiterlesen

Flanger

Effect PedalEigentlich sind Flanger zurzeit recht unpopulär – vielleicht weil sie in den 80ern zu häufig eingesetzt wurden, oder weil sie einen markanten Sound erzeugen, der nicht jedem gefällt.
Dabei ist Flanger nicht gleich Flanger und je nach Einsatzgebiet kann ein Flange-Effekt immer noch interessant klingen. „Flanger“ weiterlesen

Downsizing

PedalboardAuch wenn Gitarristen oft große Effektboards haben, schwärmen viele von dem direkten Sound der entsteht, wenn die Gitarre direkt in den Amp eingestöpselt wird. Die Dynamik ist erhöht und die Gitarre hat einen höheren Output. „Downsizing“ weiterlesen

Modulationseffekte

ModulationseffekteChorus

Ein Chorus erzeugt zunächst eine exakte Kopie des Signals. Anschließend wird eines dieser Signale, wie bei einem Delay, zeitverzögert wiedergegeben. Allerdings sind die Verzögerungen bei einem Chorus so kurz, dass sie nicht als Delay wahrgenommen werden. Sie sind ca. 2 bis 70 ms lang. „Modulationseffekte“ weiterlesen