Earthquaker Devices Dispatch Master

Dispatch-MasterFor all the guitarists who did not get the limited Ghost Disaster of 2010, the Earthquaker Devices Dispatch Master is a worthy and pedalboard-friendly replacement. Continue reading “Earthquaker Devices Dispatch Master”

Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport SR

Disaster Transport SRWith the Disaster Transport SR Advanced Modulated Delay & Reverb Machine the guy of Earthquaker Devices went a great step further. They combined the Disaster Transport Jr with the Ghost Disaster, a digital delay that has been in stock for a short time around 2010. Continue reading “Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport SR”

Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport / Disaster Transport Jr.

disaster transport Stricktly speaking the Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport covers a whole series of digital delays that are all dedicated to lo-fi sounds. Continue reading “Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport / Disaster Transport Jr.”

Tips & Tricks: Wireless?

Tips & tricksEven on small stages it is pretty comfortable, not to get entangled in guitar cables and to avoid the knotting of the cables of all band members.
The alternative to the usual stereo cables is a wireless sound system.
But is this kind of signal transmission suitable for every guitarist?
And, are there any disadvantages? Continue reading “Tips & Tricks: Wireless?”

Downsizing Part 2

PedalboardLarge pedalboards with uncountable pedals on them might weaken the signal or at least change the sound in a certain way. In this case, it is secondary whether you use true bypass pedals or buffered ones. Even the length of the cables on your pedalboard will influence the sound. Continue reading “Downsizing Part 2”

Which effect should I get? The Lexicon PCM 81 or a reverb stompbox?

Although the Lexicon PCM 81 was most famous in the 80s, it still sets the standards for good reverb sounds. Continue reading “Which effect should I get? The Lexicon PCM 81 or a reverb stompbox?”

„Always on“ pedals

Ask the DudeOn many pedalboards you can find pedals that stay on all the time and occasionally the question comes to your mind, if you might have chosen the wrong equipment to create the sound you actually long for. Continue reading “„Always on“ pedals”

Tips& Tricks: What’s wrong with my pedal – first aid instructions part 2

Tips & tricksThe first part of this continuous series was dedicated to general sources of error concerning effect pedals. In this part I would like to focus on some details. Continue reading “Tips& Tricks: What’s wrong with my pedal – first aid instructions part 2”

Tips & Tricks: Booster as a tone enhancer

Tips & tricksNowadays many guitarists swear by true bypass. As I already told you in the article “Buffer vs True Bypass”, a good buffer or booster has many advantages (especially for large pedalboards). Continue reading “Tips & Tricks: Booster as a tone enhancer”

Ask the Dude: True Bypass vs. Buffer

Ask the Dude“True bypass” – I guess, there is no term that is mentioned more frequently relating to the presentation of a new pedal. What does “true bypass” mean and does it have any advantages? Continue reading “Ask the Dude: True Bypass vs. Buffer”

Earthquaker Devices Dispatch Master

Dispatch-MasterFür alle, die das 2010 in limitierter Auflage erschienene Ghost Disaster nicht bekommen haben, ist der Earthquaker Devices Dispatch Master ein würdiger und Pedalboard-freundlicher Ersatz. „Earthquaker Devices Dispatch Master“ weiterlesen

Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport SR

Disaster Transport SRMit der Disaster Transport SR Advanced Modulated Delay & Reverb Machine gingen die Jungs von Earthquaker Devices dann einen ordentlichen Schritt weiter. Sie kombinierten das Disaster Transport Jr mit dem Ghost Disaster, welches um 2010 nur für kurze Zeit hergestellt wurde. „Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport SR“ weiterlesen

Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport / Disaster Transport Jr.

disaster transportDisaster Transport steht bei Earthquaker Devices für eine ganze Serie digitaler Delays, die sich alle dem Lo-Fi Sound verschrieben haben. Da sich die einzelnen Vertreter nur in einzelnen Aspekten voneinander unterscheiden, möchte ich in dieser Rubrik gerne zwei Vertreter der Serie in einem Artikel vorstellen.
„Earthquaker Devices Disaster Transport / Disaster Transport Jr.“ weiterlesen

Tips &Tricks: Wireless?

Tips & tricksSelbst auf kleinen Bühnen ist es schön, wenn man keine Stolperfalle in Form von Schlaufenbildenden Kabeln an der Gitarre hat und sich nicht die Kabel aller Musiker zu einem unlösbaren Wust verknoten. Die Alternative zu den üblichen Kabelwegen ist Wireless.
Aber ist diese Form der Signalübertragung für jeden geeignet?
Und welche Nachteile hat es? „Tips &Tricks: Wireless?“ weiterlesen

Downsizing Teil 2

PedalboardGroße Pedalboards mit vielen Effekten können das Signal schwächen oder klanglich verändern. Dabei ist es nebensächlich, ob es sich bei den verwendeten Pedalen um True Bypass- oder gebufferte Pedale handelt. Selbst die Kabelstrecke zwischen den Pedalen beeinflusst den Klang. „Downsizing Teil 2“ weiterlesen

Welchen Effekt brauche ich? Das Lexicon PCM 81 oder ein Reverb- Pedal?

Auch wenn es ein Produkt der 80er ist, so setzt das Lexicon PCM 81 immer noch Maßstäbe und gilt als Referenz für gute Reverb Sounds. „Welchen Effekt brauche ich? Das Lexicon PCM 81 oder ein Reverb- Pedal?“ weiterlesen

Brauche ich einen Looper für mein Pedalboard?

Frag den DudeEs gibt zahlreiche Anbieter von komplexen Schaltpedalen (Looper), welche die Bedienung des Pedalboards vereinfachen sollen.
Aber macht ein Looper wirklich immer Sinn? „Brauche ich einen Looper für mein Pedalboard?“ weiterlesen

“Always on”-Pedale

Frag den DudeEs gibt Pedale, die lässt man quasi immer eingeschaltet (“Always On”- Pedale) und hin und wieder kommt einem dann vielleicht die Frage in den Sinn, ob man nicht das falsche Equipment gewählt hat, um den Sound zu erzeugen, nach dem man sucht. „“Always on”-Pedale“ weiterlesen

Tips & Tricks: Mein Effektpedal funktioniert nicht mehr- was soll ich tun? Part 2

Tips & tricksIm ersten Teil dieses zweiteiligen Artikels habe ich mich den allgemeinen häufigsten Gründen dafür gewidmet, warum das Pedal nicht mehr tut, was es soll. In diesem Teil will ich etwas mehr ins Detail gehen.

„Tips & Tricks: Mein Effektpedal funktioniert nicht mehr- was soll ich tun? Part 2“ weiterlesen

Tips & Tricks: Booster als Tone Enhancer

Tips & tricksHeutzutage schwören viele auf True Bypass. Dass ein guter Buffer oder Booster – gerade bei großen Pedalboards – viele Vorteile hat, habe ich bereits beim Thema „Buffer vs True Bypass“ geschrieben. „Tips & Tricks: Booster als Tone Enhancer“ weiterlesen

Frag den Dude: True Bypass vs. Buffer

Frag den DudeTrue Bypass – Es gibt wahrscheinlich keinen Begriff, der öfter erwähnt wird, als dieser, wenn ein neues Effektpedal vorgestellt wird. Aber was ist True Bypass und welchen Vorteil hat es. „Frag den Dude: True Bypass vs. Buffer“ weiterlesen